Pit Bull Awareness: Don’t believe the myths

Manatee County Government
MCGov Voices
Published in
3 min readOct 25, 2021

By Sarah Brown, Manatee County Animal Services Division Chief

I have been working in Animal Welfare for close to 20 years, and every shelter where I have had the pleasure of working has been overpopulated with what is commonly known as “pit bulls.” I quote that because pit bulls aren’t even a breed, rather it is a generic term used to refer to a group of mix breed dogs, muscular looking with larger heads.

Why are the shelters so full of the bully breed dogs? There are many common misconceptions and misinformation about the dog, which I find puzzling if you look at the history of the “pit bull.”

During World War I and World War II, they were a mascot featured on recruitment posters, crowned as America’s dog. Pit bulls were known for their loyalty and affection for children, earning them the nickname “the nanny dog.”

Unfortunately, in the 1980s, gangs began using pit bulls for protection. Pit bulls unwittingly became a status symbol for people who chose to use the dog’s physical attributes as a means of intimidation. And, unfortunately, due to their strength and loyalty, they were used for dog fighting.

So the misconception begins…

I live in a data-filled world, so here are some facts for you.

In temperament tests operated by the American Temperament Test Society, pit bulls were rated the second-most tolerant. The most tolerant dog was the Golden Retriever, and the least tolerant was the Chihuahua.

It has been said that the pit bulls’ jaws lock, and that they have the most powerful bite among dog breeds. This has made people wary of their temperament, but neither of these statements are true. Their jaws do not lock, and they do not rank with the most powerful bite.

I have known all this data and information for many years and have worked for years to try and help dispel the myths. It wasn’t until recently when I adopted a dog from the shelter, that I truly could feel this misconception come to reality.

Manatee County Animal Services Division Chief Sarah Brown with her adopted pit bull, Ava.

Ms. Ava, as my 7-year-old daughter named her, is a 2–3-year-old mixed breed “pit bull.” Ava is a loving dog, making friends with all she meets — dogs, cats, tiny humans and adults. The perfect adoptable dog for my family. But I saw firsthand the reaction to her from some of my neighbors: quickly crossing the street, running in the house with their dog, and someone even told me that “that type of dog hurts children.”

The unjustness of this brought tears to my eyes. How could they not see this amazing dog for who she is? One of the most tolerant, patient and gentle dogs is now being portrayed as dangerous.

I will forever stand on my soap box sharing the message that all dogs are individuals, and I encourage you to visit a shelter and get to know one of the many “pit bulls” at the shelter. You won’t be sorry. It’s time to put the unwarranted negative perceptions of these dogs behind us.

Sarah Brown is the Division Chief for Manatee County Animal Services, overseeing field services and shelter operations and serving Manatee County for over 5 years. Previously, she was the Executive Director of The Humane Society of Pinellas. She also served as Senior Manager at one of the largest shelters in the United States, Animal Care & Control of NYC.

--

--

Manatee County Government
MCGov Voices

We strive to serve the 411,000+ people who live here with excellence, preserving & enhancing the quality of life in Manatee County.