Cyber Manifold — Our first Cyber Monday Online Hackathon

Danielle MacNeil
manifoldco
Published in
3 min readDec 21, 2018

--

This year Manifold celebrated Black Friday and Cyber Monday with a series of coupons to try out services on the Manifold Marketplace, as well as an online hackathon called Cyber Manifold. We were excited to engage with our community, and to encourage developers to build new applications over the long weekend using some of our partners’ services. The rules were simple: build a web app using at least one service from our marketplace, upload to social media by the end up the week making sure to tag @manifoldco and use the hashtag #CyberManifold, and developers were in to win. Top prize included a $100 donation to the charity of the winners choice, and a feature here in our blog.

We handed the floor over to Phillip to introduce himself and walk us through his app.

Meet the Winner

My name is Phillip Kelley-Dotson and I’m a software engineer. I’ve been coding for over three years now and have a lot of passion for building projects that will help people. My hobbies outside of coding are flight simulator, Netflix, reading science fiction and legal thrillers.

I built ReceiptMe because I’m currently developing a side project that will allow people to sell food from their own kitchen. One of the features I wanted to build was to give people the ability to create their own customized receipt. The API’s I used within the app were the thenounproject (for customized logo icon) and HyPDF API (to show an example of submitted receipt).

The app allows you to enter your own kitchen name as well as logo.

Then you’re able to customize the text of the receipt.

Once you like the way it looks, you can submit your final version that loads as a preview in a new window in the browser.

Charity of Choice: Garage Script

Garage Script helps low-income earners who are struggling financially and looking for a job. They teach these people how to code and work with local government agencies to help them financially so they can focus on learning. Learning how to code will be their full-time job!

Why did you Choose Garage Script?

I chose Garage Script for my donation because it is one of my favorite non-profit projects I volunteered with. To be able to help people learn, understand, and write code is very rewarding and has allowed me to give back. This program enables people who might not otherwise have the chance or resources to learn how to code for free. I believe it will help underrepresented groups in tech get the one on one experience they need to break into the tech scene. In the end this will help foster diverse creative learning and tech applications!

--

--