Night Sky Streaked with Colour

Marie Manuel
Manuel Writing Corner

--

My travel list is not as lengthy as I thought it would be, and the glorious northern lights feature number one on it. I remember the first time my geography teacher, Mr. Mence, showed my classmates and me a picture of the ‘aurora borealis’. I was amazed by the fact that this was a natural phenomenon that can only be viewed in the high-latitude regions. One of the countries in this region, Finland, has built a northern lights village with thermal glass igloos. These structures provide you with an unobstructed view of the night sky resplendent with a myriad of bright colours from the comfort of a warm bed. While viewing the breathtaking polar lights, many tourists must have realised that man was in all likelihood inspired by this display and attempted to recreate it — fireworks. I never miss out on an opportunity to view a firework display even though I dislike the sound, and so look forward to the moment when I can travel to the Finnish Lapland and view nature flourish it’s many colours in the most wondrous display of all against a vast and magnificent backdrop.

By Marie Manuel

--

--