Do You See Yourself Writing on Medium Long Term?

That is the question

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365
1 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Today I’m asking myself this:

Will I write on Medium 1 year from now?

5 years from now?

10 years from now?

30 years from now?

Is there longevity in doing this?

Will I be consistent?

These are the things I’m thinking about with the Medium platform.

I recently upgraded to Friend of Medium for $15 per month.

Then I downgraded.

I went back to paying $5 per month.

I downgraded because I stopped writing daily.

I stopped posting daily.

I stopped the consistency.

I lost my passion for writing every day.

However, I do like writing.

I like writing when it just flows.

When it doesn’t flow and gets hard, that’s when I stop.

That’s what I’ve noticed.

Regardless, I will keep paying the $5 a month to keep writing on this platform.

However, I’m not sure for how long.

I’m not sure if I’ll keep going.

I’m not a fan of editing my writing.

I like the writing when it flows, but not the editing.

When things gets hard, I quit.

The pattern continues.

Until next time,

— Donny

--

--

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365

Donovan is a financial coach helping everyday people with personal finance. Learn more about Donovan's coaching here: https://linktr.ee/donovanmichel