I Will Read The Entire Bible in 2024, Here’s How I Will Achieve My Goal

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365
Published in
4 min readJan 9, 2024

I am writing this to inspire others that big goals can be achieved if you have a plan and stay consistent with your actions.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

66 books.

That’s how many books are in the Bible.

By 2025, I will have read all of them.

It all starts with a plan.

I’m not going to wake up on January 1st, 2025, and have accidentally read all 66 books of the Bible.

That’s not how this works.

I have a Bible reading plan that has a strategic goal for every day.

The best part about my reading plan is how there are 5 readings per week and not 7.

This means that if I miss 1 or 2 days of reading throughout the week, I am still able to recover without having to double down on my reading.

Life happens.

There are going to be days throughout the year where every second of the day is spent on something other than reading the Bible.

It’s impossible for me to plan for all 365 days of the year without having to adjust the plan.

Adaptability is essential in order to succeed.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Luckily for me, adaptability is my biggest strength based on a strength finders test I took months ago.

This means that I can be placed into a random situation and adjust my gameplan very well based on my resources and skillset.

This applies to my reading plan in many ways.

Take my reading environment for example.

If I were very picky about when and where I read, it would be a lot harder to achieve my daily reading goal.

I like to read at my dining room table.

However, there are going to be days where I won’t have access to that specific table.

There are going to be days where I travel.

There are going to be days where I’m in an entirely different country.

In fact, I will be spending 5 full months away from my hometown in 2024.

P.S. I will be writing every single day while I’m gone. Subscribe to my newsletter here to receive updates about my adventures! :)

The link above will take you to my landing page (away from Medium.com)

Imagine if I was only able to read at my dining room table in my hometown.

That would make my reading plan exponentially harder.

What if I get burnt out?

Burnout is a genuine concern.

However, I have confidence that I can overcome burnout.

Take a 9–5 job for example.

Photo by Julián Amé on Unsplash

Say that you have been working the same job for 10 years with little to no advancement.

You have definitely experienced burnout at some point during those 10 years.

However, this doesn’t mean you just stop working and quit.

The paychecks are necessary in order to build the life you want.

The paychecks are the incentive to keep going.

In my case, the wisdom and spiritual development is my driving factor.

I trust God that burnout won’t get in the way of forming a deeper connection with my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

The relationship with me and God will strengthen significantly over the course of 2024.

How do I know this?

By staying consistent in His word, I am bound to learn new information and become more knowledgeable.

I want to form a deeper understanding of those beautiful 66 books.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

The Bible’s books aren’t just some books either.

They are the books of how we should live our life.

These books are the driving factors that allow me to understand what to do when I am:

  • anxious
  • jealous
  • joyous

Every book in the Bible tells a story, and I want to know the full story.

2024 is a test for me in so many ways.

It is the next stepping stone in my spiritual journey with Jesus Christ.

Not only do I want to read the Bible this year, but I want to read the Bible every year.

That’s right.

66 books, every year, until I no longer have the strength to do so.

However, in 2024, I have the strength.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” — Philippians 4:13

Am I up for the challenge?

Heck yeah I am.

Thank You for reading! :)

Subscribe to my daily newsletter here.

--

--

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365

Donovan is a financial coach helping everyday people with personal finance. Learn more about Donovan's coaching here: https://linktr.ee/donovanmichel