Tipsy Writing is the Best Way to Create Word Vomit, Here’s Why

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365
Published in
2 min readJan 8, 2024

I am writing this while slightly tipsy and I’m ecstatic to share this post with anyone who is in need of a creative spark.

Photo by Apolo Photographer on Unsplash

Word vomit is a term used when words come out of your mouth without any thought.

In my case, I am typing my thoughts rather than speaking them.

Word vomit typically occurs when the mind is relaxed.

I am 2 beers deep and feeling quite nice.

It’s important to note that the 2 beers were 16oz and not 12oz.

This may not seem like a big deal, but it slightly adds to the tipsiness.

I don’t drink often, but when I have a few beers, I feel relaxed.

When I feel this way, it allows me to let loose on how I genuinely feel.

Photo by Radu Florin on Unsplash

The relaxed feeling has allowed me to find a rhythm and naturally put words onto the screen.

Now I will definitely need to edit and revise every sentence of this article.

However, this will be a good rough draft of what I am trying to say.

You can’t go wrong with word vomit.

Word vomit is genuine thinking.

Nothing beats genuine, honest writing.

Typing this has been so fulfilling to me.

I have spent the last 5 minutes of nonstop writing and just…wow.

My hands don’t hurt. My fingers aren’t tired.

I am just going with the flow.

Now I don’t encourage drinking.

However, an occasional beer helps me as a new writer.

Stay creative. Stay humble. Stay awesome.

Have a blessed day.

Thank You for reading! :)

Subscribe to my daily newsletter here.

--

--

Donovan Michel
Marathon 365

Donovan is a financial coach helping everyday people with personal finance. Learn more about Donovan's coaching here: https://linktr.ee/donovanmichel