I don’t want to march for…anything.

Laura D. Brown
March For Public Education
3 min readJun 20, 2017

So, I am going to Disney World.

It’s June 20, 2017. I have three more days of school. And, I don’t want to march for…anything.

I don’t want to march for the survival of public education.

I don’t want to march against an unqualified U.S. Secretary of Education.

I don’t want to march for the right of teachers to unionize and collectively bargain in every state of our great union.

I don’t want to march against the privatization, corporatization, and monetization of education.

I don’t want to march to abolish the need for GoFundMe requests, where teachers beg for school supplies and creative teaching materials.

I don’t want to march for equitable funding between neighboring school districts, within states, and among all states in the “United” States of America.

I don’t want to march for the recruitment of young people to earnestly join the teaching profession so that my future grand babies will have a large pool of eager, fresh, and enthusiastic teachers.

I don’t want to march for the collection of box tops to fund playgrounds that are under-utilized due to the pressure of over-testing.

I don’t want to march for air conditioning in schools.

I don’t want to march for higher teacher salaries.

I don’t want to march for neglected schools facing urban blight or rural poverty.

I don’t want to march for the protection of my undocumented students.

I don’t want to march for greater respect for teachers.

I don’t want to march for quality, affordable health care for my students and their families.

I don’t want to march for factual science education.

I don’t want to march for the rights of my LGBTQ students.

I don’t want to march so that my non-white student’s lives matter.

I don’t want to march for democracy’s survival.

It is 2017, I should not feel compelled to march for basic human rights in the richest country in the free world.

So, I will spend July 4, 2017, in the “happiest place on Earth,” pretending that all is well in the world. For a week, I will be fantasizing that the marches are not necessary and that my rights are not limited by the whims of politicians.

Then, on July 22, 2017, I will proudly wear my soft, blue shirt and walk in my sensible shoes, to promote the best democratic institution this country has: PUBLIC EDUCATION!

Join me! The March for Public Education on July 22, 2017 is critical. Please consider clicking the heart ❤️ icon above, following the March For Education Blog Publication, following on Twitter, liking the page on Facebook, participating in the march, and donating to the march.

--

--