It was a strange night

A Poem; Selection I, Of The Curation

Gary Orphey
The Ineffable Writers’ Guild
2 min readFeb 19, 2024

--

Photo by Carl Tronders on Unsplash

Words sputtered from my mind

Like pieces of chain-mail blown

From the mouth of some

Ancient cannon, burning,

Sputtering, catching fire;

Roaring from my madness with

No direction, a chaotic

Shrapnel of words taking flight

Into the void of night.

I was the eloquence of Cyrano

de Bergerac, the stumbling

Ineptness of Stanley Kowalski

Rolled into one; a moth-eaten

Blanket trimmed in gold

Brocade.

Nothing could stop me. Not

Iron, steel, manmade link, or

The carcasses of those before

Me who failed –

Damn them, damn death,

damn the obstacles underfoot.

Sensing destiny, determined,

I would ride full-tilt into it like

Don Quixote; and if there was a

follower, a believer, a Sancho

Panza type who would hold

Me high in victory, or bury me–

I would be proud to call them

friend.

– The Texas Dog Poet

--

--

Gary Orphey
The Ineffable Writers’ Guild

As an unrepentant poet I dig through the bone-pile of words left behind. With good fortune I resurrect them and they ascend for all to see.