Why I sold my Fuji x100v whilst the rest of the world struggles to buy one.

Marcus Platt
Marcus Platt Photography Blog
6 min readJun 23, 2022

--

First, let me address one thing. All the hype around the x100v is justified. It is an exceptional compact camera. However, like any camera, it has some issues, and most importantly, it just didn’t gel with me.

Two years ago, I took delivery of a shiny silver x100v, my first Fuji camera. The idea was the x100v was going to become my daily carry camera and travel camera. I could leave my heavier camera and lenses at home and pack just an x100v. Its 23mm (35mm equivalent) fixed lens would push me to rethink my photography and the fabled Fuji JPEG engine would reduce my time in editing software.

That was the plan, at least.

My x100v on the day it arrived

When the x100v arrived, I was struck by its beauty. Stylish, compact and with plenty of horsepower. However, I was shocked at its size and weight upon holding it for the first time. Coming from Panasonic G9 and GX9 Micro 4/3rd cameras, the x100v wasn’t the revelation in size and weight I was hoping for. It wasn’t that much smaller or lighter than my GX9 with a 15mm (30mm equivalent) fixed lens. Surprisingly the GX9 was smaller than the x100v with a 20mm Pancake lens. The reality that neither camera would fit in my pocket fell heavy on me.

--

--