Brave

Margaryta Chepiga
Open Source Adventure
3 min readJan 25, 2018

--

Why would you contribute to Brave?

What is Brave?

You might already be familiar with Brave, but for those people who are not, Brave is a fast, ads and trackers free browser.

More info you can find below:

Official website where you can download the browser & find more info about it.

Brave’s Twitter

Github

Some great articles about Brave:

Can Blockchain Disrupt Online Advertising and Eliminate Manipulation?

BAT: A Natural Way to Contribute to Publishers

Why Brave?

I honestly know brave for only a couple of days now, and I am already crazy about it!

From the developer point of view, Brave is an amazing project to contribute for:

Idea

It resonates well with my ethical and personal standards and it checks all the boxes that I would want (as a user) to have in my browser.

Help is Wanted

After finding the project on Github ( I am planning to work on laptop version ), I found out that there are a lot of different ways to contribute to the community. I can work on the documentation, localization ( I know three different languages ) and there are bugs with all kind of levels of difficulty!

Community

Even though I haven’t spent much time yet on the project and in the community, but from the very first couple of hours, it was pretty clear to me that the community is very active, supportive and helpful! How can someone not like it?

P.S I can’t even express how much I am excited & passionate about having a chance to contribute.

Where To Start

The very first thing that I have done was reading the README file ( kinda expected ha ).

1

Where we can see the information on how to reach out to the community, and that is the next thing we are going to do.

Okay. This step had always seemed scary to me. “Reaching out to people I don’t know? What am I gonna to stay? What if I will sound stupid? What are they gonna think about me? Oh no, there is no way I could do that!” — me in the past.

As I learned with time, there is nothing useful of having those thousand “what if” questions. You know why? Cause you will never know what happens unless you try. So let’s skip the drama & move on to make things happen.

There are different ways how you can join Brave community.

What have I done:

Where you can find useful info, find common Q&A (obviously), get notified about the most recent things posted etc. After I looked at a couple of posts, I noticed that community is very active, it doesn’t take much time for people to reply. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

1

Discord is a modern voice & chat app, that I have never used before. So I have created an account and joined the chat. After that, I reached out to the community.

1

The result of this step was more than satisfying! See it yourself:

1

--

--

Margaryta Chepiga
Open Source Adventure

Software Developer, known as overexcited girl who is passionate about technology