I Want to Start a Movement: Remember the Lessons Learned From the Pandemic

Marian Baldini
MarianBaldini
Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2021
Photo from Greenbiz

Every week a teammate shares on the Town Hall why they’ve chosen to get the vaccine. On Tuesday one of our staff shared that much of her decision came down to her underlying health conditions, and the riskiness of what it could have meant for her health had she chosen otherwise. As a Type 1 diabetic, our fellow team member is only alive today due to the science and research that created insulin. Her belief in this compelled me to share my own story with you today.

Ten years ago this May, I was diagnosed with breast cancer; and it’s a wonderful feeling to share that since that time I am cancer free! I know that there a several of our teammates who have had battles with cancer and some who are actively fighting as I share this. They know as well as I do the many challenges that come along with their diagnoses. From trying to process a lot of complex information and phases while processing your own physical state, to waiting around for lots of tests and procedures; the entire experience is down-right scary! I was very much “in the trunk” when I first learned my diagnoses, and became a little obsessed with reading about cancer in general. It was my husband, Larry, who had to help figure out how to get me out of the “trunk,” into the “backseat,” and eventually back into the “driver’s seat” of my own life.

When I reflect on what has helped me get through that chapter in my life there are a few things that come to mind; several I think directly correlate with how many of us have navigated the coronavirus and the vaccine. When I was diagnosed I had some great family success stories of beating cancer, which brought me hope. Three of my aunts had breast cancer, each completed the recommended treatment, and all of them achieved remission and lived without a reoccurrence. One of my aunts wrote detailed notes and sent them to me; they were wonderful gifts that gave me hope of beating cancer even before I knew what my treatment would entail. I was no longer troubled by stories of those who had gotten diagnoses so late that there was not hope for survival. I had the expectation that my health care and the science would help me find my cure.

I had great doctors; my surgeon trained at Fox Chase, and my oncologist worked in collaboration with my surgeon. My radiation doctor was also the regional leader who founded breastcancer.org! I had all this science supporting me, and each took the time to explain everything I needed to make vital health choices.

Lastly, I made the decision to follow the science; I benefited from the research that had been done prior to my own diagnosis and asked questions. I did all that I could to reach a great outcome, and was fortunate in receiving one. I’m conscious that everyone who gets cancer does not win their battle, but my cancer was understood, and I had an opportunity to choose my path to success.

When I look at the pandemic and my own scary story, I believe we can greatly benefit from following the science; and from sharing the success stories with those who have been battling the very real history of disparity. We can help ensure that our employees have the right health insurance supports for high quality coordinated care, and we can look at our stories and each other to remember the “Brain as a Car” tool. We must practice positive approaches and help each other out of the “trunk” and into the “backseat,” and out of the “backseat” and into the “driver’s seat” to make our best decisions. While I drove my own car through my cancer experience, I did follow the road map that science had laid out for me, as well as the hopeful stories and great providers offered to me. My hope is that as we all continue to navigate the pandemic — that each of us will do the same, hop in our driver’s seats, put our cars in gear, and follow the well-thought out road maps, stories, people, and opportunities that have been provided for us to end this pandemic and truly crush COVID.

--

--

Marian Baldini
MarianBaldini

Ms. Baldini is the CEO of KenCrest, a human services agency that provides services to children and the intellectually and developmentally disabled community.