I Want to Start a Movement: Travel a Different Road

Marian Baldini
MarianBaldini
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2020

I learned to drive by going back and forth to the Acme and my high school. It was the stretch of road where I could safely practice with speed limits/changes, traffic lights, stop signs, and curves on narrow roads. Once I got my license, my travel radius remained the same. I’m sure my mom found this pretty helpful, too, as I would go to the market and grab milk for her. With eight kids in our household at the time, we needed it almost daily. Eventually I broadened my horizons, traveled farther, and tested my skills on some new roads.

At KenCrest, we’re broadening our horizons and pursuing some new destinations. We can’t reach new places by taking the same roads we’ve traveled in the past, and it’s time to put our skills to the test. We have a long history of charting new paths and going places no one has gone before; it’s in our DNA. Our mission shifted from serving the sick to creating a school for children with disabilities when there was nowhere for them to go. We started a movement in IDD services, incorporating positive approaches to address the day to day challenges of those we support.

Although we’re carrying some heavy baggage, from workforce shortages to rapid changes in rates and rules to match, we’ll continue to travel towards our destination of authentic inclusion and great early education for all. Not everyone will want to go the direction we’re headed or travel the roads we’ve mapped out, but we’re unwavering in our commitment to providing the highest quality supports for those in our care. They deserve nothing less than having the opportunity to live their best lives every day. Join me in taking a new road, and know that together, we’ll support each other as we journey towards success.

--

--

Marian Baldini
MarianBaldini

Ms. Baldini is the CEO of KenCrest, a human services agency that provides services to children and the intellectually and developmentally disabled community.