Unsuccessful Dieting: Eating Guilt

Therese Ralston
Mariposa Magazine
Published in
10 min readJun 4, 2019

--

Without exception, most women do both.

Photo by Maria Molinero on Unsplash

Twelve years ago I was employed as a leading counsellor in the worlds largest billion dollar weight loss organization.

I spent a substantial amount of time complimenting others, encouraging their success and doling out advice. All the while hiding food in my linen press to eat when feeling emotionally drained after a bad day.

Just revealed my lily white underbelly.

I’m heavier now than when I started helping people in weight loss.

When I pass the ladies of my town who relied on me for a bundle of support, it seems I’m the big fat fraud.

They used to cross the road to avoid me.

Those women felt guilty because they put weight back on, plus extra.

I feel even more guilty because I’ve packed on pounds as well.

Now I’m bigger, my former clients speak with me again, wave and smile and chat in the supermarket, making nervous glances into their trolley to check if they have a stash of fattening foods in there. They would manoeuvre their bodies to block me seeing in, or tell me that their kids liked to eat so much junk they had to buy it.

While those women are being so friendly, I make a concerted effort not to look in their…

--

--

Therese Ralston
Mariposa Magazine

Writing about the real life, farm life, reading life, birdlife, wildlife, pet life and school life I have in my life. My blog: birdlifesaving.blogspot.com