How to Trend Your Branded GIFs

Casie Lane Millhouse
Marketing And Growth Hacking

--

Ever have someone say “show me results first”?

Well, that’s what I had when a client pushed back about my services. We are such a new Ad agency, we know we can get results we just don’t have case studies to show proof. Even when I tell them I pulled off viral campaigns that lead to 2.1 million people to upload pics in a branded hashtag in 24hrs.

So, I took to my own brand to show what we can do.

Probably one of the craziest tests I’ve ever done on myself for a client.

The question was: How can I get a brand in front of people in a fun, delightful way in LinkedIn Messaging, on Facebook, in Facebook Messenger, in Twitter and Instagram Stories?

Well, how about my single fav content medium? Heck, I am the organizer of Singapore’s very first GIF Festival feat. on MTV.

So, I hired a videographer.

We recorded over a green screen.

He sent me a google drive with the videos.

I edited with yellow background. It’s a sweet color not used enough.

I cut the videos into 5 sec. clips.

I did hashtag research on Giphy and the Emotional Graph on Tenor.

Uploaded over 40 gifs to GIPHY on my personal page. (should have used a branded partner page but well, lesson learned for my client)

Re-uploaded them to Tenor with hashtags. Using my name too so i can easily search. (this is the important piece! don’t forget!)

Started messaging my friends on FB Messenger, and it made me feel so good.

Started messaging my friends on Telegram, awwwww!

Started messaging every new contact on LinkedIn with a hello gif of myself to start that conversation. (I get 30–40 new contact requests per day so this was the bulk of my time!)

Other people started using my branded gifs.

Now I’m trending #1 spot with this gif for ‘yeah like duh’
it’s also trending for ‘like duh’ and ‘duh’

Other ones are trending for ‘wtf’ ‘wtf man’

Tenor featured my ‘what are you talking about’ right next to Obama & Jim Carey.

So next time someone says “Show me results”, try a mini-test on yourself.

Just wanted to share this story if anyone else is struggling with clients coming at cha.

Now it’s your turn to talk that talk.

Xoxo,

Casie

Thanks for reading The Marketing & Growth Hacking Publication

Follow us on Twitter. Join our Facebook Group.

Turn Cold Leads into Warm Sales Conversations

We are sponsored by LeadFuze, which aims to kill the cold call. Spend your time with qualified prospects who actually have interest in what you sell thanks to LeadFuze’s automated sales prospecting and engagement platform.

Learn how to stop wasting time on cold calls and emails with LeadFuze.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Casie Lane Millhouse
Marketing And Growth Hacking

Currently at Meta building Augmented Reality things 😎 Futurist ✨ I love GIFs & walking on my hands.