How to use video to attract, win, and retain more clients

Annie Maguire
Marketing And Growth Hacking
9 min readFeb 24, 2019
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Do you hate live presentations?

I loathe them.

But the problem is, I can’t really get out of them.

At some point, my clients must see the work I’ve created, which means scheduling a call, sharing my screen, and speed-talking over the words while he or she attempts to keep up.

To me, it’s not an ideal way of reviewing work.

Copy needs to be read, considered, digested, left alone, then considered again before it can be truly judged.

Unlike other forms of work, copy doesn’t lend itself well to quick feedback, and it’s not really something you can “talk over” because I want the client to focus on the words, not my presentation.

But what other option is there, right?

Well it turns out, there is another option…video! 🎥 And it’s not just for presentations.

While video is great for demos/presentations, it can also be used for cold emailing, proposals, referral requests, and more.

And it’s not just for show — the impact and power of video is personal and persuasive, which adds up to more business and more returning clients.

Video is a way to not only demonstrate value, but it’s helpful in building an emotional connection with leads and clients, which is a huge part of the decision-making process.

Plus, studies have shown that video can help increase attention span and improve conversions, both of which are important when trying to win new business.

Since adding video into my processes over a year ago, I’ve gone from 5 to 6-figures. Yes, there were other factors involved to get there, but I assure you, video was a driving force.

But don’t take it from me. Here’s what my clients have to say about my videos…

The money-making magic of video

My prospects and clients LOVE videos.

Here’s a few snippets of real conversations I’ve had with clients to show you what I mean…

And those are just the ones I could easily find!

Most of my client calls begin with “I watched your video — thank you so much!” or “Thanks for sending over that video, that was really helpful.”

Understandably, video offers many benefits you simply cannot get during a live presentation, including:

Convenience

Rather than having to schedule a call, clients can watch my videos whenever it’s convenient for them, whether that’s first thing in the morning, during their lunch break, or when they get home from work.

Time to think / digest

Rather than feeling pressured to say, “I love this!” or come up with feedback on the spot, clients can take their time to watch my presentation, digest the copy, and consider it fully before sharing their thoughts.

Easier to share feedback

As a client watches my video and thoughts come up, she doesn’t have to interrupt my presentation (or wait ’til the end) to give feedback.

She can simply pause the video, jot down her notes, then send them to me via email or schedule a follow-up call to discuss.

Discourages knee-jerk feedback

Don’t you hate it when a client blurts out half-baked feedback two minutes into your presentation? With video, that simply doesn’t happen because there’s no opportunity to do so.

This method forces clients to actually take the time to watch the full presentation, review the work, and make thoughtful (rather than knee-jerk) comments.

But video isn’t just great for your clients — it’s great for you, too!

Using video helps you standout from other contractors, as it allows you to add that “something extra” into the way you present yourself and your work.

Hopefully you’re convinced that video can truly change your business, but first, how do you record a high-quality videos you can share with your clients?

The right video tools

While there’s a million ways you can record and share videos, my favorite tool is Camtasia.

Camtasia allows me to record a screencast (aka a live video recording of my computer screen), which is great for walking clients through work.

The inside of Camtasia — looks intimidating, but SO easy!

If I’m looking decent, I can switch on the “Facetime” feature, which turns on my camera.

With this option, there’s a little video of my face appearing alongside my work (or whatever I’m showing on the screen). If I don’t want to show my face, I can simply turn it off.

A screencast video with my face showing

If I want to edit the video (maybe chop out some unnecessary content) I can easily make changes, or if I mess up, I can quickly restart the video.

There’s a free 30-day trial, but once that’s up, it’s about $99. Not bad for a tool that’s critical to my business.

Again, you can use any video recording/sharing software you like. Camtasia is just what works for me.

Alright, now that you know how powerful video can be and which tools to use, let’s jump into the specific moments where you may want to incorporate video into your process.

The 6 ways I use video in my business

There are SO many ways you can use video in your business; these just happen to be my favorites.

And I come up with new ways to use video all the time.

In fact, while I started out just using video as a way to present work, it has evolved into my go-to method for communication, as it’s so easy and effective.

#1: Outreach / cold-emailing

As you can imagine, it’s already difficult to get people to respond to an email from someone they don’t know.

So to increase your chances of a response, add a personalized video into your cold email.

It doesn’t have to be long (in fact, the shorter, the better — I aim for 1–3 minutes max) and I’m selective in who gets one.

Typically, I’ll go through my contact list and highlight the people who I feel would be the best folks to partner with, whether it’s a potential client or someone who complements my skillset (like a designer for example).

This means if I have a list of 60 people, maybe 6 to 10 of those folks will get a custom video.

In the video, I usually introduce myself, explain why I think we’d be a great fit, and mention something genuine about their work, product, maybe an idea for how they can improve their copy, etc.

In the email, I like to include it as a “P.S.” about the video ensuring it’s more likely to be seen and watched ( you can track this with software like mixmax).

Here’s an example of a typical cold email to show you what I mean:

This approach has gotten me more responses than any other cold-email approach I’ve used in the past.

From that campaign alone, I had an 80% open rate and a 60% response rate.

So far, I’ve had two calls with two different leads (which may result in future business) and was just asked by a third person to provide a quote for a potential project.

Not bad, eh?

#2: Proposals

Rather than jumping on the phone, I like to send my proposals with a video walk-through.

I know many people prefer to jump on the phone with a client to run through a proposal live, and I don’t disagree — I think my close rate could potentially improve if I did that— but for now, I do pretty well with video proposals.

Here’s how I do it:

I prepare the proposal in a document which outlines everything the client needs to know about the project (from fees and timelines to process and fine print). I also include a series of work samples and testimonials from past clients.

Once the proposal is complete, I record a quick video of me walking the client through the proposal.

This gives me the chance to explain all the important aspects of the project, while giving the client the freedom to process the information and make a sound decision.

The only downside to this approach is there’s no “live selling,” which, I admit, may improve close rates, but then again…

#3: Welcoming new customers

A new thing I’ve begun doing recently is including a “welcome” video along with the “Project Document” I share with my clients.

Within the Project Doc, there’s all sorts of helpful stuff, including a list of upcoming tasks, timelines, links to documents, and even a helpful FAQ section.

In the doc, I add in something like “Welcome! Here’s a quick video I recorded just for you” and pop it up top so they’ll see it first.

I find that a customized video is a great way to kick off the relationship, as it helps to welcome and explain, while confirming his or her decision to work with me.

#4: Presenting work / demo’ing

As mentioned above, using video to walk clients through my work is going to be helpful for your clients and for you.

For the client, it’s a convenient way to view your work on their own, but with the benefit of a live presentation.

For you, it’s a no-pressure way to walk your client through the work, without the fear of talking too fast or being interrupted.

Aside from “presenting” your work, you can also use video to demo or offer instruction, like showing a client how to make a copy change on Wordpress or how to create templates in Mailchimp.

#5: Answering questions / offering clarity

Finally, I find that a quick video can be a great substitute for long, lengthy emails.

For example, let’s say you’re speaking with a lead who has questions about your process, output, rates, whatever.

Rather than answer those questions via email, I’ll record a quick video to walk them through my process, show off some samples, or whatever else they need to see in order to “get it.”

Plus, the added bonus of creating a personalized, custom video makes the person feel special and cared for, which is key to winning and retaining clients.

When it comes to video, the possibilities are endless

There’s truly no limit to how you can use video in your business.

I encourage you to try my suggestions, but also to explore all of the potential touch-points where you can use video to attract, win, and retain clients.

If you have any questions about this article or anything else, feel free to contact me directly: annie1maguire@gmail.com or anniemaguire.com.

Thanks for reading The Marketing & Growth Hacking Publication

Join our Facebook Group. Contact us for a sponsored post. Write for us. Need help growing your business to the next level?

Automate your Twitter sharing to increase engagement.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Annie Maguire
Marketing And Growth Hacking

Freelance Conversion Copywriter. Digital product creator. Aspiring comedy writer. This could get weird.