Launching Social Media Marketing for Our Project from Scratch (Part 2)

Nodis.io
Marketing And Growth Hacking
5 min readJan 28, 2019

This is article #13 of “180 Days to Startup” series documenting my entrepreneur journey. In case you want to start from the beginning, please click HERE to the first article. You can also check out what Nodis.io is looking to accomplish HERE.

Photo by Con Karampelas on Unsplash

This is part 2 of my social media marketing journey for our project. In the last article, I talked about my learnings and techniques to gain exposure through Instagram. I went from a complete noob in social media marketing to having 3.7K followers in 4 months.

Unfortunately, I did not gain nearly the kind of success in the following platforms. In fact, from a follower count’s perspective, I pretty much failed miserably. However, I still got something out of the experience and I would love to share them with you.

Medium

As mentioned above, this is my 13th article. I have been publishing articles consistently for half a year (about 1 article every 2 weeks). The stats through this period are as followed:

  • Total views — 3514 (19.5/day)
  • Total read — 1681 (9.3/day)
  • Total fans (people that clapped) — 102 (0.6/day)

In comparison to the other big writers, my stats are horrible. For the time I have put in, some can say the return isn’t sufficient. And I felt that for a while, until I started looking at my time investment in Medium from a different perspective.

We all know that what we put online, stays online forever. That can be a bad thing if it’s something embarrassing but for the sake of online content, that’s a really good thing. People are still reading my first or second article that I wrote half a year ago. It isn’t much but it’s continuous and it’s passive. Just like the idea of passive income, it all adds up. Maybe one of those readers will be a major investor for us in the future.

In addition to passive exposures, these articles also gave me content to post on other platforms such as the ones below.

Reddit

Marketing on Reddit has to be carried out very carefully. Many people detest this act. Content that we put on Reddit must be somewhat useful to the community. Communities on Reddit are known for being very blunt and may even bash the brand. Putting anything controversial will be sure to generate push back.

To avoid being seen as spamming, it’s important to find all the relevant subreddits. For the sake of our project, I tried to identify as many blockchain/cryptocurrency related subs. As of now, I’ve been mostly re-posting my Medium articles on different subs. I never re-post the same articles on the same sub to avoid being considered spamming. I do about 6 posts every day and is in the process of cutting down to 3. Using all the 12 articles I wrote and a bunch of other posts written by our team mates, I have been able to do it without repeating the same articles in the same sub so far.

We have actually gained quite a bit of exposure there and drove a lot of traffic to our Medium articles. We even had someone from Michigan that found our project (Ian) through a Reddit post and ended up joining our team!

Telegram

This is the platform on which we are having the least success. Unfortunately, it is also a critical platform to grow for token sales. I started this platform by buying 133 subscribers atthe beginning. It’s one thing that I regret as they are mostly bots and none seemed to care about token sale. We have made a decision as a team to truly grow Telegram organically through quality campaigns and content.

Ian oversees the growth for Telegram. He helped us to create strategy, plan, and tracking tools to grow Telegram. Some of the tactics we are looking to use in growing Telegram include the following:

  • Airdrop/bounty campaigns— this is the key tool that we are using to get people to join our Telegram. For those unfamiliar with the term, this campaign offers participants free tokens in exchange for their subscriptions/follows to our social media.
  • List the campaigns on websites that specializes in promoting these campaigns (e.g. www.airdropalert.com).
  • Direct message all Instagram followers about airdrop.
  • Consistently and periodically posting on Reddit, Bitcointalk.org, Instagram, and other relevant platforms to attract people to join our TG.

Since the first week we started doing the above, we grew 11 new subscribers on our Telegram. It is not much by any means but it’s the most organic growth we’ve had in 1 week’s time. Obviously, this still isn’t enough so we are still learning other hacks to grow TG.

More updates shall come in the future as we continue to improve on social media strategies!

If you find what I wrote even just a tiny bit interesting, please follow me on Medium and give me some claps. You can also follow us on Telegram and Instagram to get the latest content and project updates. Thanks for reading!

Thanks for reading The Marketing & Growth Hacking Publication

Join our Facebook Group. Contact us for a sponsored post. Write for us. Need help growing your business to the next level? We can be your CMO and marketing team. Learn more.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Nodis.io
Marketing And Growth Hacking

We are a startup helping businesses to connect with communities. Follow for content and updates of our project. Please visit us at https://nodis.io!