What’s blocking your business story from spreading?

Keri Vandongen
Marketing And Growth Hacking
6 min readFeb 1, 2018
Source

Across a circle, Chad narrated, “We sell natural, safe,… skin care… We’re family-owned. We use… ingredients. …”

My attention shifted to noticing who else was there.
Nothing Chad said stood out in my mind. Nothing worth remembering or caring about.

Several pitches later.

Starring at Chad’s stack of cards, a baby’s head shot caught my eye.

“A baby. What a cute touch for a card!”

“Yeah, I thought so too! That baby’s Lowen. She’s six now.
She’s the reason I began my own skin care products. It’s turned into a line of all-natural, safe products that people can depend on to heal minor skin conditions.
When no prescription, over the counter product or herbal remedy worked, I innovated a diaper balm to heal Lowen’s out of control diaper rash!”

Tell me more!!

My intuition screamed, YOU DID WHAT?!!!

SOLVED A PROBLEM THAT BILLION-DOLLAR DRUG AND PHRAMACEUTICAL COMPANIES COULDN’T CREATE AN EFFECTIVE PRODUCT FOR, WITHOUT PERMANENT, DAMAGING SIDE EFFECTS?

Source

I’ve witnessed blood-curling screams from a baby in agony because of a diaper rash that turns skin into flaming red, raw tissue, covered in blisters and cracks that bleed. The pain and distress it causes –is present every waking moment. Escalating when touched, rubbed against fabric or exposed to any skin products.

I’ve also experienced eczema on my hands that replicates that agony. One time, ending up in emergency after an 18-hour trip home because eczema flared up from dryness inside airplanes. The only cure was a cortisone ointment which thinned the skin on my hands, leaving them permanently susceptible to future eczema flare-ups.

After hearing more about Chad’s remarkable solution, I told Chad features of the video storylines I create.
“Really! I’m researching options to create a video that captures my story of starting my skin-care products. That sounds perfect.”

Before heading off to his day-job, we arranged for a phone conversation to discuss plans for collaborating on a video storyline. I encouraged Chad to view samples on my website and YouTube –to confirm his interest in collaborating on a video to share his compelling story. I studied Chad’s website and social media activity.

That’s when I spotted the problem.

  • Chad’s story didn’t immerse people or move them emotionally. Readers were kept away from experiencing Chad’s story. Held back by a summary of event-based facts. Similar to Chad’s pitch, there was nothing sensory or emotional to hold their interest. It read like a journal article that congested readers’ flow. Making it difficult to finish, understand and remember.

After unsuccessful trials of commercially-available diaper rash treatments, we used our pharmaceutical knowledge and clinical experience to develop an innovative natural diaper balm using unconventional, unrefined locally-sourced ingredients. (https://lowens.ca/about-us/)

Chad’s storytelling was blocking it from spreading.

Choking his million-dollar story from helping numerous babies and people find relief.

During our marathon phone call, Chad hesitated to share sensory details about his story.

  • Details like the visual imagery of his baby’s diaper rash.
    flaring wounds and bubbled, red skin
  • Raw emotions describing feeling helpless to heal Lowen’s rash.
    A father is supposed to take care of his baby!!
  • And, words that take readers along Chad’s journey.

I began experimenting. Mixing formulas of pure ingredients with multi-purposes. Every ingredient was carefully researched before chosen. I repeated the formula, again and again, narrowing down the ingredients. Fewer ingredients triggered fewer reactions.

Instead, Chad spoke about what he found important.
How long his pharmacy training took.
What professional experience he had.
Where he’d worked.
Telling me about the properties of his formula ingredients.
Whenever I’d get Chad talking about video storyline plans –he’d launch into questions about my process.

Source

Following our phone call, I put together a draft story, plus an outline for our video storyline. I supplemented notes with observations, website and social media info. Then, emailed a copy for feedback.

A couple weeks passed before I hear back from Chad. He responded,

Sorry for the delay but I’m not going to be able to review and respond this week. I may be able to get some time on Sunday to run through the document.

In the meantime, I removed confidential info and shared the revised story with my Toastmasters club.
Their faces lit up!
They were visualizing a product invented to treat diaper rash and eczema, when nothing else worked, and didn’t thin out skin.

It took a month of applying the balm, daily to finally heal Lowen’s bottom enough she could wear a diaper again.

A week later, another email mentions Chad’s reason for delaying video plans.

I think it is best to delay until next month if it is OK with you. If we videotaped next week, I would be rushed and less engaged, which doesn’t work for either of us.

I kept in mind that Chad also works another job, helps raise a family, plus markets and sells his skincare line.

Thinking Chad would benefit from more feedback, I shared a story snippet with my networking group.

Samples of the diaper balm were sent off, hoping dozens of colleagues would pass them on.

Stories of mini miracles of healing skin trickled in. Emails from farmers, construction workers, police officers, hair dressers, military personnel, stressed out students…

Frantic parents emailed, “Our baby has finally STOPPED screaming!”

Everyone demanding, Where can I buy your miracle balm?!!

That was pretty much the response I received from group members.

Can I get that balm?

Where’s his online store?

They were eager to purchase from hearing only a snippet of Chad’s story.

Two weeks later, Chad revealed the reason for his delay and lack of feedback.

I was talking with my wife over the weekend. We touched upon how my being on video, telling the story of my skincare line could be perceived. I don’t want to cause any conflicts of interest with my employer.

So, for the time being, I’m going to step away from telling my video story. At some point, hopefully Lowen’s is a full-time opportunity.

Source

Chad was blocking his story from spreading.

His motivation to avoid the fear of jeopardizing his employment was stronger than his desire.

That’s what I should have found out during our initial networking conversation.

While following up with Chad and researching, I focused on whether his target population had a powerful enough desire to exchange money for.
I neglected to find out whether Chad’s desire was powerful enough to spread his story. It must exceed his motivation to avoid his fear.

Does your desire to spread your business story exceed your fears?

When your desire is strong enough, you’ll find the courage and resources to identify and conquer your fears. If too weak, the smallest obstacle will block whatever you desire.

When you’re ready to craft your million-dollar story… consider 3 critical tips that are featured in the sample story for Chad’s skincare line.

Thanks for reading The Marketing & Growth Hacking Publication

Follow us on Twitter. Join our Facebook Group. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel. Get our best stories in your inbox by following us below.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Keri Vandongen
Marketing And Growth Hacking

Speech-language pathologist. Empowering you –so your child develops a love for communicating (speaking, conversing, reading, writing) and connecting.