Why I love writing on Medium.

Pratik Routray
Marketing And Growth Hacking
4 min readMar 28, 2019

This article is neither a listicle nor a paid promotion. I simply love writing on medium and just want to share my journey with you guys. I hope this article might be helpful to any budding writer,or someone beginning his writing journey on medium.

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

I am nineteen years old and I always had this creative bug in my head. I have been writing as long as I can remember. I had stacked up pages full of essays,creative writings,poems(although horrible ones!). My teachers and family always appreciated my work and I really loved it,but it was only a year back that I started documenting my work online. I started a blog(which is now defunct though).

Photo by Icons8 team on Unsplash

The greatest difficulty I faced with blogging on my own was the fact that apart from friends and family I did not have any readers. I must have had hardly 35 followers(all friends and family). I wanted to share my works with the whole wide world, here I was stuck with 35 people I knew. I wanted my work to enthrall complete strangers.

I know some of you might consider me an impatient millennial, its actually the converse. I am a big Gary Vaynerchuk fan( google it,if you are unaware because covering him is another medium post for some other day.)

I was ready to slog on for 3–5 years in anonymity,until I stumbled on medium. It was all by chance. I heard Gary Vaynerchuk speaking positive things about medium in one of his video blog episodes on YouTube. I downloaded the application on my phone and started reading from various established authors and publications like:-

1. Tim Dennings

2. The ascent

3. Kris gage

4. The writing co-operative

I was really impressed by this platform and was happy to be a part of it,but I had yet to publish anything . I had a thought in the back of my head, to start publishing on medium someday.

Cometh January 2019,that though transformed into an unbearable feeling bearing heavy on my mind. I could not take it anymore and I opened my account with this post:-

As the saying goes “a journey of thousand steps begins with one step”. I never expected my first post to be accepted by a publication with 1k+ readers. I was motivated by this and continued posting , it’s been almost 2 months and I have reached more new people than one complete year of blogging!

I have come to discover many positives of blogging on medium and I am going to share them with you:-

1. You get immediate attention:- you may be a complete noob, yet thanks to the amazing publications you get access to their big fan-base, such a thing is absolute rarity on a personal blog.

2. Limitless publications:- you can get a multitude of options in categories that interest you. Their is a publication for almost everything, which means your particular niche will most probably be covered. In case their is no publication, you can create your own! trust me it’s better than being lost in the internet’s whirlpool.

3. Interaction:- Humans are social animals and we thrive on interactions. I have had a lot of positive interactions on medium and made many great positive social-media relationships. They are just like my extended online family and I love it!

On a concluding note I would like to say that my overall experience has been great on this platform. I am not against creating your personal blog, I have no agendas here. I am just sharing my opinion and experience here!

I am still a beginner and have got loads of things to learn and a long way to go!

Please 👏 clap if you found this valuable, and 👉 follow me for more writing like this and join me on my personal journey of navigating life’s intricacies!

Thanks for reading The Marketing & Growth Hacking Publication

Join our Facebook Group. Contact us for a sponsored post. Write for us. Need help growing your business to the next level?

Automate your Twitter sharing to increase engagement.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend 👏 and share to help others find it!

--

--

Pratik Routray
Marketing And Growth Hacking

poet,writer and haiku addict,my goal:to leave behind a collection of memories through my various works, which will endure long after I have vanished from earth!