First Step in Growing A Business, Sales

Creative Awesomeness
Marketing and Entrepreneurship
2 min readJun 20, 2016

Hiring a sales team is John’s initiative. He said the first step in growing the business is to bring in more sales. Our main lead generator is the Internet, and I am the one who’s personally attending them. For the first time in years, we are going to hire a sales team. With this, I expect and see the full potential of this market.

We have interviewed 4 or 5 candidates for sales account manager. I am not used to interviewing salespeople, I am a little intimidated to be quite honest. We have hired one in Cebu, my old friend. I don’t have doubts that she can deliver. We intend to offer the job for two qualified candidates this week though John might be delayed in his flight back from his honeymoon.

One candidate is someone from a telecom company. She’s confident that she can meet monthly quotas but she’s a little bit reserved. Another candidate is a young lady who’s had experience in selling Quickbooks over the phone. I got interested with her when I learned her current position is lead generator. After those interviews, I realized its not easy to find a talent. I had the feeling I have to just hire someone for the sake of it or for hiring convenience. But I leave it to John to decide.

This is the first wave of bringing the company to the next level. After this, we will augment the operation, the product development and the branding. Goals are enjoyable when you are still in the journey of meeting them. Its a good habit to queue more goals for future execution.

--

--