A Blog? Oh No.

Aika Chen
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readSep 18, 2022

I was very excited about the Digital Marketing Class until I noticed I must write a blog about digital marketing every week.

— For a couple of seconds, I froze.

A blog?
Oh no. I’m not a verbal person. I’m a visual person. Don’t make me do this!

Self Portrait
Self-Portrait

Hello, my name is Aika Chen. I’m a Visual Designer turned Marketer.

When was 5, I had an intense interest in dinosaurs. I was able to tell you what types of dinosaurs they are, what they eat, and where they lived by just seeing a picture, and I was able to draw each one of them. My first ever win was the “first prize drawing ”at the Kindergarten. I always have been a visual thinker ever since I can remember. I’m rarely thinking of writing something unless I was asked to do so. That’s why I picked the graphic design program as my undergrad — usually referred to as “Visual Communication Design”.

A messy workplace just means we are creative…
Sometimes being messy means being creative

During my school years, I realized that graphic design was not primarily focused on creating cool publicity images. It was also rooted in developing a connection with individuals and understanding the emotion and reactions of others. I was really drawn to these aspects of design and it really motivated me to continue my education in marketing where I will be able to gain additional insight into the business side of design and define my nuanced areas of interest.

So here I am trying to turn myself into a marketer.

I was born in Japan but lived in several countries during my youth. Being a visual thinker, I always had the perks of being able to communicate effectively across cultures. For me it’s not just about pictures, it is more like a way to organize my thoughts and a way to convey complex or confusing information.

In my view, it shares many similarities with digital marketing. Although the tools used to communicate are different, the goal is to convey the right messages and build meaningful connections with people. With this blog, I’m looking to cover an array of topics from digital marketing basics to content strategy from a graphic designer perspective.

Whew! I managed to write my first blog. I guess it wasn’t that bad.

--

--