A Fascinating Look Inward

Yunfei Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 21, 2021

--

We all have things that set us apart from others. Although the business world is full of people competing and jockeying for the best positions, trying to stand out from the crowd, it is often hard to know where to start when building your personal brand. While in previous eras one could craft an identity around a single company or brand, in these days with so much lateral movement, frequent job changes, and many people working multiple jobs or participating in the gig economy, each of us has become our own brand ambassador… for ourselves. In order to get my feet wet for this process, I took the Fascinate Test, a product created by Sally Hogshead to serve a variety of professional development and team-building purposes. This test uses an algorithm to align your personality with an archetype and a profile of your professional strengths, called advantages in this model.

Taking the Test

I have to admit, I was a little skeptical of the test at first. I enjoy zodiac tests and personality quizzes as a fun diversion, but I don’t usually put much stock in them. Back home in China, there are some regions and families that take a person’s zodiac sign very seriously, using it to inform decisions including marriage and family planning. I did appreciate the variety of language options provided for the test. It’s not often that you see a product presented with that many languages and I enjoyed the inclusivity.

A detailed breakdown of how I scored on the Fascinate Test:

Personality Archetype: The Subtle Touch

This archetype describes a person who is quiet and reserved, who generates interest by not putting all their cards on the table at once. People are intrigued by what they don’t see, and since people love a good puzzle, they are drawn towards this person to figure them out.

Primary Advantage: Mystique

While I don’t have blue skin and superpowers, this one definitely felt like a compliment. People with mystique, the test report explains, are people who don’t share everything about themselves right away. They are careful and measured before speaking or acting. The lack of flashy performance actually inspires people to be curious and want to know more about this person.

(Artwork by Raven Darkholme)

Secondary Advantage: Passion

I don’t usually think of myself as a passionate person, but rather as a hard worker — this test seems to equate the two, giving me a new perspective on what passion really means! According to the test, a passionate person is interesting not because they are flashy or commanding, but because they genuinely care about the results and quality of their work. They drive interest from people because others want to see what they can achieve, and people believe in the meaning and purpose of their work because the person’s passion is infectious.

Reflecting on My Results

Most of what I read in the Fascinate Test report felt true to me. The only part of the report that felt wrong to me initially was the “dormant advantage” part. I don’t really see myself as a power-oriented person — I prefer to take a gentle approach and I don’t need to be in charge unless I can be helpful in that role. However, upon further reading, I realized that the ranking of this advantage means it’s my least helpful trait and I should try to lean on my other strengths instead!

This exercise helped me to look inward and really think about my personal brand — that is, how I might market myself to spotlight my most attractive attributes to potential employers and clients while remaining authentic to who I am. After taking the test and reading the report, I was struck by the idea that my traits might be a good fit for a consulting role — talking to people and giving them advice, listening to their needs, and providing gentle guidance rather than being a diva in center stage or a commanding boss. Because I enjoy listening and contemplating my moves before I make them, I find it natural and easy to determine other people’s needs, set clear goals, and have a strong work ethic to get things done. While this might not be the personality of a front-page business tycoon or a world-famous influencer, I think that making a difference for individual people and maintaining integrity and trust with my clients is much more important to me in my professional life.

All That Glitters Is Not Gold

I have always felt that the best approach to marketing is not to push people to buy your products, but to build trust and use gentle influence rather than coercion to achieve your desired results. If you have loud music and flashy effects, you might make a sale for one day. But if you can build trust and friendship with your clients, you can reap a lifetime of benefits. As this article by David C. Aaronson for Digital Inbound Marketing suggests, pull marketing provides you with a “deeper understanding of what customers need”. Trust is not based on being the biggest, loudest, or flashiest option, but on being sensitive and flexible to people’s individual needs and genuinely caring about their welfare. This test was a great way to look in the mirror and admire my strengths while also planning a strong platform on which to market myself in the future!

--

--

Yunfei Zhang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Digital Marketing Student | NYU Grad student | Love pets