A New and Unfamiliar Journey: My First Blog

Hamza Razuman
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min read6 hours ago

I always referred to myself as a content creator, but I never thought that would be in the form of blogs.

This is a new and exciting journey for me, as I am usually behind a camera rather than a keyboard. As a videographer, writing has never been my strongest suit. In fact, I used to do everything possible to avoid writing. However, the importance of sharing insights and connecting with an audience in this day and age has inspired me to step out of my comfort zone and dive into blogging. I also see writing as one of my weakest areas in the realm of creativity, so I believe this would be a great way to strengthen my writing abilities.

About Me

Before I get into what I’ll be blogging about, I think it would be helpful to know a bit about me.

I grew up in a small town in Florida called Port Saint Lucie. I then studied Film and Television Production at the University of Florida as I wanted to work in the film industry. I ended up working at small marketing agencies such as The Agency at UF and Think Integrated, where I developed a passion for digital marketing. (Here’s my portfolio if you want to see my previous work).

I hoped to work for larger companies in a more exciting city, so I applied to New York University, where I am currently obtaining my master's degree in Integrated Marketing. I am also currently interning at the United Nations Development Programme in the Communications Department.

My Hobbies

I have a deep love for food and for exploring new restaurants in New York. There are so many opportunities to discover unique flavors and innovative dishes in the city. I also don’t mean expensive gourmet meals. I would much rather find places that are cheap but deliver an amazing and tasty experience. Whether it’s devouring an iconic pizza slice in Brooklyn or trying a trending deli on TikTok, I relish every opportunity to try something new and delicious.

With all the food I eat, I also like to stay active and do something physical every day. I grew up playing sports and going to the gym, so I enjoy getting a good sweat in. I actually find it very cathartic to release all my tensions and emotions through a good workout.

What to Expect

In the next few weeks, I will be exploring various aspects of digital marketing, focusing on how it has evolved and giving my personal insights on how we can use it. I’ll discuss trends, share tips, and offer my perspective on navigating the ever-changing digital landscape.

Video has become an integral part of digital marketing strategies. It’s no secret that visual content is more engaging and memorable than text alone (no offense blogs). With platforms like YouTube, TikTok, and Instagram dominating the social media landscape, video marketing is more important than ever. As a content creator, this is incredibly exciting because it means my skills and expertise are in high demand. Creating compelling video content can significantly enhance a brand’s online presence and drive engagement, and I’m eager to share my insights and experience in this area.

Another one of my favorite parts about digital marketing is the wealth of data it generates. Every interaction, click, and view can be tracked and analyzed, providing invaluable insights into different audiences. I know this aspect of digital is extremely boring to some people, but it is extremely fascinating to me. While I am passionate about videography, my ultimate goal is to transition into a role as a data analyst within the marketing field. Analyzing data and extracting meaningful insights is crucial for developing effective marketing strategies, and in the age of digital, it is much more accessible and powerful than ever before.

For someone who doesn’t particularly enjoy writing, this is a big step, but I believe I’ll be able to grow and learn from this experience. I am excited to learn more and share with you all about digital marketing and the impact of video and data analytics in this field. I hope this blog becomes a positive space for insights, conversations, and learning with fellow digital marketers. Thank you for joining me on this journey, and I look forward to discovering the future of marketing together.

Stay tuned for more updates and insights in the weeks to come!

--

--

Hamza Razuman
Marketing in the Age of Digital

MS in Integrated Marketing Candidate @NYU | UNDP Intern | UF Alumni | Marketing Enthusiast