A Peek at The Guerlain App

Tianling Zhu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readMar 7, 2020

Not really a fan of the beauty industry though, I took a shot at the new Guerlain App on my phone. Being a rookie with few comparisons to this very app, I have to say I truly enjoy using it. Before I go further about the App, I would love to share with you the reason why I chose this app in particular.

Making A Purchase on Apps?

Sometimes I have been called a pragmatism in choosing all kinds of products for its practical utility rather than mere aesthetic or fashion consideration. Hence, Apps that I have been using are to save my time and efforts. In online shopping, I couldn’t express by how much I love platforms like Farfetch, Ssense, and of course Amazon as they all provide inclusive products that I could find. As such, stick with Sephora in beauty and cosmetic shopping comes as my thing. I was astonished to learn that there are very few apps made by beauty brands for customers to shop online.

Luckily, I have a close friend serves a beauty company in a management position and shared me with her understanding. The majority of customers do not show a pattern to buy all he/she needs from one beauty brand throughout his/her entire lifetime of purchases, it might be risky to have only one brand for customers as they are more likely to expect far more variety of brands and products from one platform. Therefore, investing heavily in development might not be a financially worthy choice especially considering that Sephora and other lead platforms are already doing a great job grasping customers in one community.

Henceforth, I have started my search among all beauty brands from the app store and Android store and have found so many official apps issued by beauty companies without even basic advertising function! Here is an example of how most beauty apps are presented in the app store:

Picture 1. bareMinerals App Screenshot.(Source: App store bareMinerals Intl. INCITE https://apps.apple.com/us/app/%E6%B3%95%E5%9C%8B%E5%AC%8C%E8%98%ADguerlain/id1438846079

BareMineral, as a popular middle-level beauty choice, has only developed an app for its global franchisees. Similarly, the ELX on-the-go published by Estée Lauder turned out to be for its own employees only. It then came to my realization that training and internal management serves a much greater benefit to beauty companies than a franchise app with only their own product while beauty wholesale gigantic are out there doing great.

Picture 2. bareMinerals App Frontpage Screenshot.(Source: bareMinerals Intl. INCITE App.)

What’s Special About Guerlain App?

Guerlain app comes as a unique product in its boldness to have such an app while most of its competitors have none. It feels completely like using any other well-designed online shopping app when browsing the Guerlain app. Unless I want to look for a specific brand’s product, I wouldn’t realize that it serves only for one brand with their own product providing. I am part of a Guerlain fan although not crazy about it, and finding out this very app thrilled me deeply. It made me have a better impression of Guerlain as an integrated brand.

How’s the Guerlain App?

The app is useful in its inclusiveness of all kinds of products if I am not asking for the same product from another brand. With everything designed like a normal online store, product specifics, key facts, price, and promotions, etc. All one would need to make a purchase online are there for you. Actually, if not knowing what I am browsing, it truly does give users a sense of using very matured apps like Sephora and Amazon.

Picture 3. The Guerlain App Frontpage Screenshot.(Source: Guerlain App.)

Aesthetically Familiar and Navigated Good!

As is aforementioned, innovative designs from a technical perspective might not be a key advantage of Guerlain, yet the innovation presents itself from having an online shopping option for loyal customers. Cutting-edge technologies like Artificial Intelligence and Augmented Reality cannot be seen from this app as well. My guess is for cost and safety concerns. Using only the most prominent designs and technologies would not only give customers a warm embrace like apps they are already familiar with but also saved them R&D costs as they only need to incorporate a matured template with originative product contents.

From my personal experience, I would say the Guerlain app is more than a pleasure to use especially for its navigation and aesthetic design. The app comes without any single feature or button that serves redundantly, rather, all displays are fluent to use and every information you would need can be seen within a very short look at the entire screen. A smart trick in its aesthetic design, to me personally, might be the color tone and layout remind me of Sephora from time to time. Sephora app seizes most of my time spent on shopping for beauty products, and a vague reminding effect makes me feel familiar, and more comfortable to use the app longer.

Why Would Anyone Care to Download It?

Genuinely speaking, the motivation drove me to download the app was purely to learn about an app on the beauty industry. Amazingly, it came to my later knowledge that some of the crazy fans of the brand are using the Guerlain app as it is the purest environment wherefrom no other brand is mentioned.

Is It Worth the Space on Your Smartphone?

I would say no, of you are not a loyal fan of the Guerlain brand and buy their product quite frequently. Granted that the app is designed well, it shows no extraordinary feature to distinguish itself from online beauty stores providing a full spectrum of brands and products.

Personal Questions and A Tentative Conclusion.

It is peculiar that such a great app for crazy and loyal customers of Guerlain has only been published in Hong Kong and is designed for traditional Chinese characters in its very first version. Yes, not even the most prevalent simplified Chinese!

As can be seen from their online website, the link is addressed as https://www.guerlain.com/ hk/en-hk/new-app. A literal understanding is that this app is still new and maybe still in its beta version to the public, and the region it targets is solely Hong Kong instead of a larger market region. A tentative guess is that maybe loyal customers in the Hong Kong area appealed for the new app, or their local tech support team initiated the app development project. However, the true reason is still a wonder to me.

In all, the Guerlain app is amazing and it left me all good impressions an app could ever leave. The innovative aspect of this app is existence compared to the market prevalence, and the fact that they still deem it as a new app gives me hope to see its future becoming.

--

--