A test triggers self-reflection

Wenmiao Jin
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

Growing up, I loved doing all kinds of tests.

What kind of animal were you in your previous life? When are you going to get married? Whom would you be if you were in Harry Potter? So many weird tests have always fascinated me.

The last test I did absorbing was the MBTI personality test. My first result was ENTJ, A strong-willed leader, which is definitely not me. I tried again a couple of weeks later, and the result changed to ENFP, true free spirit, yes, it’s me.

I knew the tests were not always accurate, and we couldn’t believe it all the time. But it also can tell us who we are and what we need to change to be better, just like the horoscope. I mention the MBTI personality test because I think it has some connection with the result I got in the Fascinate Test.

ME? CATALYST?YES!

Like the screenshot above, my archetype is the catalyst. My primary advantage is passion, and the secondary advantage is innovation. Power is the dormant advantage for me. By the way, Steve Jobs is ENTJ and uses Power and Vice, as the video said. That’s why I think my first result of the MBTI personality test was wrong, and my Fascinate Test proves that also.

I like my result from Fascinate Test. It’s me. At the same time, I am thrilled to see this result. I think passion and innovation are also qualities that a person working in the Marketing Department needs. Just as a successful politician cannot lack the power to influence his supporters, a successful marketer cannot lack his passion for customers and continuous innovation. I’m so happy that I chose the major that suits me. (Of course, this does not mean that other factors are not important…)

Like what my friends say about me, maybe you will never be bored with me. But many times, some novel ideas will make my friends think I am a weirdo. But I believe it will also be the key to my success when I get into my work. Although I have been thinking recently, is it because I do not want to become a leader in group work because of repeated rejection? I have killed many of my ideas… The result also made me rethink myself. (I wasn’t surprised) When I looked at these seven advantages that Sally Hogshead said, I knew what I lacked most was power. I feel extremely pressured to convince others because I am not confident in my ideas. But it’s time to change.

Now, think about yourself. Who are you? What fascinating advantage do you have? To learn more about yourself and your archetype, just click here now! You will never regret it.

--

--