A “Truly” Colorful Website

Michelle Strauss
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 3, 2020
Website Banner on trulyhardseltzer.com

There are some “true colors shining through” Truly’s website.

Truly is a relatively new spiked seltzer brand with over a dozen flavors. It’s safe to say that both the desktop and mobile versions have almost identical experiences. Both versions asked me if I was at least 21 years of age prior to entering the website and a pop-up asking me to accept cookies.

Just to confirm: Yes, I am over 21 years of age. And I’m glad they incorporated the “Drink responsibly” campaign on their website, however, had I not scrolled to the very bottom of the website I probably would have missed it.

The homepage is extremely colorful and visualizes the brand’s flavors, including blue for both blueberry and wildberry, green for lime, and yellow for pineapple. I understand the tropical feel they’re going for but the color fade in the website banner could have a more professional touch. The background color has a Microsoft Word Art feel to it.

“Goodbye, beer belly bloat and too-sugary cocktails. Hello, Truly Hard Seltzer.” As a health-conscious consumer, I found this quote incredibly engaging and aligning with my go-to choices of drink. It makes the product sound refreshing and devoid of empty calories. Their website is transparent in the sense that it lists the calorie count for every flavor of spiked seltzer, which is the responsible approach for any company.

And hey, prospective customers will find out the calorie count eventually!

I appreciate how there’s a section of the homepage for the user to enter their zipcode to find Truly products near them. It saves customers the guesswork of going into a grocery store or bodega and not knowing if that particular store carries Truly products.

In fact, every page of their website has the “Find Truly near you” option, which saves us the headache of going back to the homepage to enter our zipcode. This is the ultimate conversion for the Truly brand, ordering products directly from their website and having it delivered right to your door.

Their social media game also has my vote.

There are buttons at the bottom of every page to follow Truly on Facebook, Twitter, Youtube, and Instagram. They even have a #LiveTruly hashtag featured on their website, which allows users to see a Truly customer’s experience on social platforms.

However, I did notice this boo-boo:

The T in “Truly” overlaps the E in “Lemonade” in the top section of their website. Whether this was done deliberately is unclear but I didn’t have this experience when viewing the mobile version of their website. The web team over at Truly may want to rectify the letter overlap.

Being the marketer I am, I went over to Facebook after visiting the Truly website to test their paid media strategy and was surprised to NOT see Truly advertisements on my Facebook feed.

That’s a first!

I think their marketing game could be stronger. I didn’t know what Truly was until I googled “Hard seltzers that aren’t White Claw.” Their website is user friendly and clear-cut, but until they create a new campaign or offer something that makes them “Truly” unique, their website is just run-of-the-mill for me.

--

--

Michelle Strauss
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Aquarius | World Traveler | New York Native |First time blogger