A variety show worker dive into Marketing…

Siyi Guo
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 28, 2024
The Bachelor (American TV series)

Do you like watching variety shows? Which platform/website do you often watch variety shows on? What kind of variety show do you like best?…

DaDa ^v^ Welcome to My first BLOG!! :D

Who I am?

Hi, guys! I’m Siyi Guo, currently studying at NYU for my Master’s degree in Integrated Marketing. Before entering NYU, I have worked in China’s entertainment industry for 3 years. I was mainly involved in three aspects of work which are market research, content production, and media promotion of variety shows, on Youku, iQiyi, and Bilibili — the best Chinese Streaming Platforms. I have worked as a producer, scene director, screenwriter, artist coordinator and other positions… I’ll share with you some stories of recording variety shows in my following blogs.

my work photo when I recorded the <Go Skiing> show

Why marketing?

In this era of digital, information explosion, especially in the fast-changing entertainment industry, marketing practitioners need to present content in an eye-catching way with memorable points and resonance according to different communication channels. The work experience of the past 3 years has reminded me that if we cannot better leverage all kinds of channels to measure consumer connection and adopt effective marketing methods, more and more valuable content will be dusted. Some of the variety shows I participated in flopped due to insufficient marketing and promotion. That’s when I realized the importance of integrating different resources to promote products and build brands through a strategic lens. Hence, I’m HERE! I want to explore more knowledge and skills in marketing, and I hope that in the future, I can help excellent works do appropriate marketing so that more people know about its existence.

Why blog?

This semester I chose a very interesting course ‘Digital Marketing’, one of our assignments is writing our blogs every week, however, for me, here is more like a platform to share my insights and discuss questions in marketing with you guys than to finish the homework.

I think that operating my blog is taking what I’ve learned to apply in real life, like building a brand of my own.

There are 3 steps I must do if I want to be a successful blogger:

01. Sketch User Profile

The positioning of my blog is closely like to do a brand positioning. Before I create my blog, I must understand the user groups and analyze them, which allows me to create content that resonates with them and addresses their pain points effectively. It also can help me tailor my content to match the interests and preferences of my blog’s target audience.

I decided MY BLOG Target audience: media workers, marketers, marketing students.

02. Clear Positioning

Blogs come in various types, each catering to different interests, purposes, and audiences. For example: lifestyle, food, travel, and business blogs…

MY BLOG is 【Personal Blog, I’ll share my thoughts and experiences with readers, and cover topics about the entertainment industry and marketing.

03. Style Uniform

Different user groups have different reading habits, I’ll start from the perspective of readers’ experience, and choose the appropriate typesetting style, font, size, and other basic typesetting formats, as well as the language style of the text.

Welcome to my blog and discuss with me! I’ll update my blog on a weekly basis. Have a wonderful week!

--

--

Siyi Guo
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU Integrated marketing student | Entertainment industry, variety show worker | Music, Travel, Photography