Adidas and Stan Smiths: Making Green Cool

Jarisa Mora
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJun 3, 2022

This may get me cancelled, but I have to say it: I prefer Adidas over Nike. Don’t get me wrong! I can appreciate Nike and its significance, but I just think Adidas sneakers are cooler and cuter. I’m not at all an athlete, but I am a consumer, and if I like what you’re selling, you’ll get a loyal customer.

How I Got Into Adidas

During my undergrad years at NYU, I saw Adidas have a bit of a renaissance. Their shoes became a part of a uniform for my peers and myself, with almost everyone on campus having a pair of Superstars or a pair of Stan Smiths.

I had one of each. I grew out of the Superstars, but I am still a huge fan of Stan Smiths. They’re sleek, comfortable, and cool, and I just love a white sneaker. They made me a fan of the brand and encouraged me to keep an eye out for their advertising and new collections.

“End Plastic Waste” Ad

In March 2021, Adidas premiered an ad for their “End Plastic Waste” initiative, which cast a spotlight on their Stan Smith sneaker.

This ad is a part of Adidas’ “End Plastic Waste” initiative, which hopes reduce plastic waste by incorporating recycled materials into their products. It highlighted the new Stan Smiths, which have a more eco-friendly construction, consisting of 50% recycled content.

The ad was eye-catching, as it featured cameos from Stan Smith, the tennis player who the shoes are named after, and Kermit the Frog (though the voiceover doesn’t really sound like him), while explaining the importance of sustainability, and how saving our planet requires a team effort. The ad plays on Kermit’s famous line, “It’s not easy being green,” pointing out that it’ll take an effort to be more eco-friendly, or “green,” it’s something the company is dedicated to doing. It also plays on the fact that Stan Smiths has a green style, which is arguably the most popular style sold.

Why This Ad is Good Content

To me, this ad is an example of good content because it was able to fit the brand’s mission, which is “to be the best sports brand in the world,” while highlighting their ability to listen to their customers. Consumers, especially those in Gen Z, are increasingly more conscious of the impact companies have on them and the issues they find important, with many refusing to shop from brands whose message doesn’t align with their own. This has been more prevalent with the fashion industry, as it is a mass creator of waste and plays a huge role in climate change, creating an average of 92 million tons in textile waste. With this ad, Adidas is saying that they understand their role as a brand, by continuing to make quality athletic apparel while doing their part to lessen waste by providing alternative, more eco-friendly options for their customers.

I fit into this group of consumers, as I want to do my best to support brands that care about their impact. Though it’s hard to do with fashion, I can appreciate that they’re trying. It’s also a smart way to boost sales, as it attracts customers that are making a push to be more sustainable, as well as those who are already fans of the brand. It’s also attention-grabbing and shareable, as the news that a large company is investing in sustainability generally is, to both competitors and consumers.

By innovating their brand and creating alternatives for their customers, they’re putting themselves ahead as an athletic brand that cares about their customers, making being green cool.

--

--

Jarisa Mora
Marketing in the Age of Digital

NYU grad student studying Integrated Marketing. Passionate about intersectionality, communication, and all things New York.