BEDGASM

Leila Rojas
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 28, 2021

It seems like the more I was spending time at home the more of a desire I had to change everything in my home. I’m sure most of us were feeling the home redecorating bug at some point or another throughout this year and how could we not.

New bed, new couch, new chair… So what’s next? I started with the usual Google search and landed on West Elm. I love a clean website. It’s one of my first attractions. My eye went straight into their summer campaigns for a modern beach retreat. I can already picture the beach on my balcony. Whether you know what you are looking for exactly or not their tabs are easy to navigate through. You can get inspired looks, browse through pre-selected ones, or shop their unique collaboration collections.

Let’s Chat!

Although I’m naturally very creative, interior decorating is not second nature to me. I noticed that West Elm has a chat box where you can ask design questions, how amazing is that. I surely jumped right in. I opened it on my iPad and was excited to ask about a specific item and then…. whoops!! Webchat is not available on mobile devices! Well now that’s inconvenient and I certainly did not want to go to my desktop. I was curious to see if I could use my phone even though I figured it might not work but was worth taking a shot. Somehow their phone app does work. I started asking my questions through there but then I felt that I couldn’t see the screen wider on the product I had questions about. One of the main reasons I was on my iPad from the beginning was to be able to have a separate tab open with the product and details. It’s a bit of an annoyance but they do make up for it with their very informed creative staff. I must say it was one of the most pleasant and informative experiences that I’ve had in a webchat in quite a while.

Let’s Create

The mobile chat conversation got me excited to see what I could create on my own now. With their design room planner, I was in a whole new world as a mini interior designer. You’re able to select some basic room sizes and dimensions then add in furniture with the ability to save your work so that you don’t lose it. The furniture pieces can be selected from any of their sister brands. Smart internal cross-company tactic if you ask me. After you’re complete you can print or save it as a pdf. At this point, I’m borderline feeling like Beyoncé and adding interior design to my belt. If you feel like this is way too much work for you do not worry they have a design team that you can chat with and they will do it for you.

Let’s Always Care!

As soon as you get acquainted with the site you can’t help yourself but get trapped into the retail vortex of wanting to see more. As you scroll through mid-page you have no choice but to stop! West Elm is the only Home Furnishings retailer on Barron’s 100 Most sustainable companies. That is pretty impressive. How could you not continue to read more at this point, I know I did. The direct read more tab link takes you into a heartfelt presence filled with true genuine care and concern about the world and its people. You can feel their commitment to design, sustainability, and exceptional quality.

Let’s Stay On

With all the options available online it becomes easier for us as consumers to jump off the pages and keep looking for other alternatives. As digital marketers, we need to ensure that we are staying relevant, keeping things simple and the customer happy. West Elm is surely understanding how to keep us on! If you’re changing your bed soon, take a look and see for yourself.

Stay tuned for next week….

--

--