BREAKING NEWS: “Facebook” knows me better than myself!

Paloma Huby
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 19, 2019

Great… this social media will continue looking for ways to know as much as they can about me, my lifestyle, my inner circle and whatever I enjoy watching. They can see what I can perceive, they can listen what I say… BUT… they cannot think as I do.

Why? Let’s review this:

In the article “Updated 2019: How Facebook collects your data and 3 tips to regain control” released the 10th of October of 2019, Nicole Lorenz talks about the scandal that broke down after “Cambridge Analytica” did when they realized that Facebook was “stalking” their users. So, after reviewing options of how Facebook knows each path that we take in their platforms, she also suggests some ways of blocking them from your life and avoiding certain privacy issues

Although I believe this article was useful because there was some indication that were very clear of how making them stop following you, I think we all in certain way want to be part of that social network and don’t want to leave our accounts so quickly.

Then… what will happen to us?

I really enjoyed this article however as this person mentions, an option is to close the app and never enter again, I think that extreme measure could be applied to people that don’t really care about any social media and are not interested in being part of it, but for the rest of us that we enjoy seeing whose birthday today it is, or the album of pictures of my trip to Europe in 2012, or the latest news about a topic we are interested in, I believe this social media allows that and gives as many possibilities to continue discovering our own personal network.

Therefore, in my opinion, closing the app wouldn’t be a need for me. However, this solution could affect in a positive way to the users that don’t want Facebook to know every detail of their lives. Some suggestions that the writer indicates is that people should turn of their locations, stop de ads of the “likes” that people send through the platform. I think those two options are the most relevant because that means that may companies are paying to have information from the users, with those options they are allowed to access our heads and try to be in our top of minds.

Even though this is a sort of invasion of our privacy, we should all be able to understand that all of these platforms once your register to be part of them, they all ask you to accept those terms and conditions, and one should be conscious about our privacy and if we do or not allow that they could be able to take whatever they want from our movements in that social media.

The era of technology…

After thinking if this privacy issue was a problem to myself, I realized that as a marketer and someone that would like to eventually specialize in digital marketing, I need to understand that these types of methods are sometimes necessary in order to understand the consumer’s behaviors and insights, and probably if I work in a brand I will be searching for that data and maybe paying to Facebook to facilitate me that information.

Technology is nowadays owning our universe and personal world so we should acknowledge that if we don’t want to receive more ads or feel that we are listened, we just should not be registering in websites, apps, or social networks.

Let’s face it… it’s our reality and our future, let’s embrace these new changes!

--

--

Paloma Huby
Marketing in the Age of Digital

I’m a peruvian lawyer with aspirations to keep growing as a marketer and sales professional. I'm constantly chasing for new beginnings and challenges!