Budweiser: We are proud to serve those who serve!

SilviaTian
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJul 31, 2023

At the first glance of Budweiser’s website, a few words caught my eyes: “Proud Supporters of Military Veterans”.

SUBSCRIPTION
After doing a quick search, I knew that Budweiser has a long history of supporting military and honoring veterans. They have offered financial support, resources, and raising awareness for initiatives aimed at assisting veterans in their transition to civilian life. Hence, it makes so many campaigns to impress viewers like me. When I clicked on sign up, it asked me to fill out the form which includes full name, email address, state, and date of birth. Not that complicated, and not that easy.

WELCOME EMAIL
After finishing my sign up process, I received a welcome email says: “Hey Silvia, This Bud’s For You!” Then, it asks me to buy Bud or gain rewards with MY COOLER. As an “outsider”, I am confused about what MY COOLER is. It seems have no difference with signing up for Budweiser. However, it did cause my curiosity to search more information about it. I eventually understood that it is a program to give rewards points for people who enjoy beverages.

FREQUENCY OF EMAIL
It only sends emails when it has new campaign coming out or when it has new product released. Less is more, so it would not disrupt members too much. As a subscriber, I consider that a few emails can help me understand the brand a lot. If those contents are useful and meaningful, I would be more happy to view those in order to get more information about their products.

MY THOUGHTS
Honestly I would say its welcome email does not make sense. It does not have a fantastic photo of their beers or discounts to attract me to purchase it. I do not even know what I have to sign up for it without getting anything. It also asks me to fill out the state where I am living in but it still makes no sense as it does not have a personalized product or service. Moreover, I suggest that they could ask members’ preferences. For example, if they have calories control needs, they could recommend them to buy the “zero” one.

References:

--

--