Buy now! Tell us your story later…

Christine Baruc
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJun 6, 2021

In this new age of marketing, consumers are constantly bombarded with new information. Auto-play, soft-colored digestible images, and endless scroll are just a few techniques that social media has wielded to garner and monetize the thing they want the most — your attention.

People want participation, not propaganda. — David Meerman Scott

But what makes your finger stop scrolling and instead tap on an image to like, comment, share, or even follow?

Source: time.com

Educate, but don’t interrupt.

Here is an example I’d love to share with you all but first, a little background on how I stumbled upon this digital content on Instagram. First of all, I am a Filipino-American woman who follows multiple Filipino-American women influencers and May is Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) Month. I was mindlessly scrolling through Instagram last week when a Filipino influencer shared a series of infographics that enlightened the reader on why Filipinos traditionally have very long names.

Ok, I’ll admit it.

Did I grow up with a four part name? Yes.

Did I ever wonder why? No. Not until I saw this infographic.

David Meerman Scott shares that marketing has evolved into having a niche brand that educates the consumer exactly when they are looking for that niche topic. So here I am thinking, “Hey, I’m Filipino and I do have a long name… Wait… Why do I have a long name? I want to read more!”

Source: @Tagalikha on Instagram

Tapping on the infographic on the Instagram story takes me to the original Instagram post by Tagalikha who describes themselves as “exploring the culture of the Filipino/x motherland and diaspora through creativity”. Through a series of inforgraphics on an Instagram carousel post, I learned that through Spanish and American influences, a tradition was born where the child will carry the mother’s maiden name as their middle name and carry the father’s surname. I also learned the origin of the nickname my family calls me and why I have two first names that are not recognized in American culture. The title caught my attention, but the educational value made me stay.

When engaging by reposting is the new *raising my hand, please call on me* feature

Not only did this digital content educate me but it had a call to action. When you arrive to the end of the carousel post, there’s an image of a name tag with space beckoning you to fill it in. The image asks you to share your story about your name in an effort to celebrate and empower Filipino names.

So let’s circle back, how did I find this post in the first place? The Filipino influencer was sharing the story of her name which led me to this post.

Source: @Tagalikha on Instagram

Share it! Share it! Share it!

Yes! I did share it. In light of privacy purposes, I did not share the story of my name. However, I shared it for educational purposes for my Filipino friends who also follow me. I even added a joke saying, “To my kabayans (fellow countrymen) who cannot fit their full names on their boarding pass.” Which in turn, earned me a repost by Tagalikha!

This infographic carousel post is a great example of good content that engages and is shareable. There is a variety of educational value for both Filipino Americans and non-Filipino Americans, it is relevant, on brand, and it is targeted towards an audience who are interested in learning more about AAPI culture and traditions. It has a call to action that encourages you to participate in a discussion and join their community who follows and sees their post.

Not only is it a great way to spread AAPI awareness but their brand as well.

In alignment with this week’s assignment, I’d love to find out what digital content engaged you this week! What made you stop scrolling? Do you find yourself liking, commenting, or sharing? I’m also interested to see if you’re more likely to interact with a brand’s Instagram or an influencer’s Instagram? Let me know in the comments below!

Also, if you have a few minutes to spare, check out Tagalikha on instagram here. You can also view the original carousel post here.

--

--

Christine Baruc
Marketing in the Age of Digital

An experienced nurse navigating the world of blogging and digital marketing, Creator of duffelintow.com