Call Me “The Secret Weapon”

Xiaoting Liu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

How you ever wondered how the world sees you? As curious, sensitive, and sometimes doubtful human beings, we all have raised the question deep inside our minds about whether other people see “us” being the same as whom we think we are. So, I took the Fascinate Test, which tells me how the world sees me, instead of telling me how I see the world as most other tests do. After just answering 28 questions, I happily found out what I might look like in other people’s eyes. And surprisingly, the results did match my own perceptions about who I am.

“Mystique” + “Innovation” = “The Secret Weapon”

How to Fascinate

Interestingly enough, my archetype is called “the secret weapon”, which is the combination of the primary trigger “mystique” and secondary trigger “innovation”. People with such archetypes are most likely to be described as being nimble, unassuming, and independent. This means we have a creative mind but don’t tend to say those ideas out loud. We prefer working independently. And we can come up with agile solutions even when under high pressure.

“You think before you speak.”

In group meetings, I tend to remain quiet most time. It is not because I am not participating in the communication, but it is because I would like to listen carefully to my teammates first and make sure that I completely understand what’s going on here. So that I can contribute to the conversation with more relevant and thoughtful content. Also, in brainstorming sessions, even though I can quickly come up with some interesting ideas, I have to think through and test them multiple times in my mind to make sure they are good enough to add value to our project. I also need a bit of time to find out the best way to phrase the ideas. Until then, I am never ready to share my thoughts. Well, the good side of this trait is my ideas usually get more votes. However, I may seem kind of isolated since I am not actively engaging in the conversation all the time.

“You look at things from different angles.”

I always enjoy pushing myself to think about different solutions to a problem, because I believe there is no single best way to approach a situation and there are definitely more possibilities. I find myself happier when I come up with a fresh idea than when I am following a conventional approach. Such curiosity of striving to look at one problem from as many perspectives as possible ensures I gain a broader picture and generate more creative ideas.

Know Yourself. Then, Know Your Worth

TEDxAtlanta — Sally Hogshead — How to Fascinate

I really appreciate that the fascinating test gives me such a great opportunity to spend some time seriously thinking about who I am and to know how I may contribute better to my teamwork projects and relationships. For example, I should probably be more confident presenting my ideas to others, as they may provide a different perspective. Also, I should feel more confident when I am working on individual projects because working independently is also a good chance for me to generate some thoughtful ideas. Therefore, if you haven’t done so yet, I sincerely recommend you to spend a few minutes taking the Fascinate Test. Give yourself a couple of minutes to reflect and acknowledge who you are. Then, shine even brighter!

--

--