Can Personalization and Data Privacy Coexist?

Wenting Xu (Tina)
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJul 27, 2020

The release of California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) and the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) really raise the awareness in data privacy and related business practices. Since then, companies are more transparent with how they collect and use consumer data.

Love & Hate of Cookie

Nowadays, every time when I visit a website, I will always receive the cookie notification at the bottom. In the past, I thought cookie is bad as it will track what I do on the website, so I always refused to accept cookie.

Then in class I learnt about that the cookie has personalization benefit to consumers, and also understand more about the use of data from a marketer’s perspective, I am now more accepted of cookie. Recently, when I go to the website that I trust and go often, I will accept cookie because I want the website to suggest more personalized items based on my previous search, so I can save time in searching the ones that I like.

A few weeks ago, I just learned about that Google provides the option of blocking third-party cookies. It is a good practice as it allows consumers to choose what works best for them. If in the past, I will definitely choose “block third-party cookies”, so I won’t receive the cookie notifications any more, and worry about website collecting my data.

However, after hesitating for a few minutes, I decided to choose the default cookie setting because I want to have the personalization benefits that cookies bring. I may clean my cookies a few times in a year to prevent my data from being everywhere in the web and being used by unwanted parties.

Selling Data to Third-party

I have got many spam calls since last year. I got annoyed every time when I received them. Before I worked, I used to reject the calls that are not in my contact list, so I am free from spam calls. Because I am working now, I have to receive external calls. Also I registered many accounts in different websites for my company, so my phone number is shared among many businesses, and sometimes the businesses will sell my data to a third-party without my permission.

I really wish there is an option to opt out of sharing my data to a third-party in the registration. Now, I see more and more companies having this option since the roll-out of CCPA and GDPR, which is a good start.

Privacy and Personalization Can Coexist

End users expect both privacy and personalized experiences. Therefore, businesses need a lawful and transparent procedure to process data without burdening the rights of a user. Data privacy doesn’t mean an end for businesses that emphasize on personalization, instead, they will need to evaluate key considerations, such as how to inform consent, and confirm where the data is coming from etc.

Increasing awareness of data privacy with legislation can benefit both consumers and businesses. Businesses nowadays will need to follow strictly with the data practices and legislation, respect consumer’s data privacy and embed into business decisions.

--

--

Wenting Xu (Tina)
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A Marketing Enthusiast & Global Citizen | Graduate Student in NYU Integrated Marketing Program | Major in Brand Management