Capture People’s in 9 Second

Xuekun.Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

Why do people only need 9 seconds to process information?

From the Sally Hogshead Ted talk, I realize that the personal brand is the most important to capture people’s attention. In the current era, because of the advanced information technology, people stay for a specific person or a particular event for a shorter time. In the online world, too much real-time information is constantly updated, resulting in people receiving only about 9 seconds for each piece of information. Hence, building your personal brand and attracting people’s attention in 9 seconds is particularly important. In the Ted talk, Sally Hogshead classifies personalities into seven types.

Fascinate Test

During the Fascinate Test, The questions are more oriented towards where you would like to be when dealing with a project or what mood you think you should be in when dealing with the project. Hence I had some insight into my personality analysis while answering these questions. From the test result, my archetype is “The Ace,” which combines primary advantage as Alert, and my secondary advantage is Power.

Getting the result from the test, In terms of the test results, I feel that the test results are still very accurate. I am more hands-on and pay more attention to the details of a certain matter. I also care about the project’s deadline and remind the team members from time to time how much time is left. Because to let people know my personality and impress them within 9 seconds means that the introduction of my brand or personal information has to focus on these two points. I will express the importance of punctuality and thinking about the details when doing something. I will be able to organize time wisely when dealing with projects, but this has some disadvantages because I will remind the team members of the project deadline from time to time, which will put some pressure on the team members to a certain extent. So to avoid this, I will slow down the pressure on the team members, such as going out for dinner or taking a short vacation for a period of time.

--

--

Xuekun.Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Grad Student at New York University. Integrated Marketing- Content writer-Archery