Carnival Cruise — Email Sign Up Experience

Tina T
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 31, 2022
Carnival Cruise Home Page
Carnival Cruise Registration Page

The Sign Up Process

Signing up to receive emails from Carnival Cruise was a seamless process. Once you enter the Carnival Cruise website, there is an option to “Sign Up & Save” located in the top navigation of the home page. After you click the “Sign Up & Save” option, “JOIN VIFP CLUB” appears below. When you click on “Join VIFP Club,” it takes you to another page where you have the option to register. By filling in information like your name, date of birth, email, and phone number, you are ready to start receiving emails from Carnival. Pretty easy, right?

Carnival Cruise Deals

After signing up, I was automatically redirected to a cruise deals page showing me VIFP Club Member-Only offers, limited time offers, and trending offers.

Carnival Cruise Welcome Email

Shortly after signing up for Carnival’s email list, I received a Welcome email. The email was not a regular text only email. The email was personalized to me and included my VIFP number. It looks like a fun welcoming poster with some important information regarding communication preferences, creating a log in password, and how to take advantage of member offers.

Email Frequency

The frequency of emails is great so far. Since signing up I have received a total of two emails. The first email was “Welcome to The VIFP Club.” The second email was informative and gave me the latest information on Carnival Cruise and deals to take a look at. I am interested in seeing the frequency of future emails in my inbox from Carnival Cruise.

Email Best Practices and Improvements

Carnival is utilizing best practices for their emails. So far, it has been worth reading. Some best practices Carnival uses include simple email design that is readable across different platforms and devices, personalization, and content worth the space in your inbox.

Although I have received two emails so far from Carnival Cruise, I think there could be some improvements. I like the designs for the email templates. However, I think that based on the Welcome email, there can be adjustments to the use of icons in the middle section since there are unknown characters that interfere with the aesthetic of the email.

In addition, I like how the second email from Carnival Cruise was longer and more informative. I believe Carnival should focus on a single message or call to action rather than several at once. Having more than one call to action introduces additional options and can be overwhelming. Overall, I think Carnival does a great job with their email marketing and I look forward to seeing what their other emails are like.

--

--