Check it out how you fascinate others!

Jin Shang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

Nowadays, people can find various tests on the Internet to find themselves, such as leadership tests, behavior tests. Now, How to Fascinate, created by New York Times best-selling author Sally Hogshead, will help you discover how the world sees you.

You only need to answer 28 simple questions, and then you can know what kind of image you are in the eyes of others. This process is viewed-inspiring. I think everyone should spend 5 minutes on the great test.

Reactions

Personal speaking, I have always been skeptical of network testing. I think every single person is unique, and categorizing people will only limit their thinking and space to develop. Furthermore, online questionnaires usually have only 3 to 5 different levels for people to choose from. As a tester, it is difficult to divide the boundaries of each different level, thereby reducing the accuracy of the result. Besides, designed questions will be more or less guiding for different groups of people. This also leads to the authenticity of the problem. When I face these 28 questions, I often have different distress because of the different answers in different situations.

My Archetype and My Reality

As the website indicated, I am considered as The Quick-Start, a combination of innovation and alert. I am described as “ have the rare ability to rapidly identify opportunities and execute a plan with focus and determination”. And I am also “ creative and imaginative”. I mean I really appreciate these fancy words, but I have never thought I was this kind of person in others’ eyes. That is super weird because I always put myself in a poor creativity positon. And this test result is the opposite of a test I did several years ago. I don't know whether I changed a lot or… lol.

For Marketers

Even though I don't really trust this result. But I think this is a good way to improve a brand or a product. Since this test shows the advantages, specialty adjectives, and other analytics, you can use this as a map to guide whatever you have into the market. Modifying the weakness and enhancing the advantages can really put the thing you want to market in the next level.

--

--

Jin Shang
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Current graduate student majoring in integrated marketing. Video games lover.