Christian Dior | Love, Beauty, and Luxury.

Sammi Xue
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 5, 2022
DIOR VIBE (Women’s Fashion)

AS a fan of beauty, fragrance, and fashion, I have some favorite brands. It makes me feel pleasant to review their latest collections, advertisement, and pop-ups on social media. We all pursuit beautiful and comfortable things. Even though I’m not able to purchase as much items as I want, it’s enjoyable for me to look at them, add to my wishlist, and purchase later on as a gift for myself.

“Women, with their intuitive instinct, understood that I dreamed not only of making them more beautiful, but happier too”. — Christian Dior.

This slogan was written by Christian Dior, the designer and founder of Dior’s brand. It has been kept nowadays still at all digital channels, for example Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter. At the homepage of Christian Dior on these platforms, you can see this sentence as a slogan, more accurately, as a symbol and explanation for Dior.

Instagram | Dior
Facebook | Dior

Here, I posted two pictures of Dior’s homepage at Instagram and Facebook. Consistent with the formats on social media platforms, they created Dior’s homepage differently. For example, they created Instagram stories and put them into collection so that customers can easily select with their interests. Instagram is mainly posting and sharing pictures, so how to select the first pictures is crucial. Differently on Facebook: the pictures come after the words. Also, customers can easily review Dior’s products and purchase directly and conveniently. Overall, the logo of black and white DIOR’s name is the same on all platforms. And tens of millions of followers and viewers reveal the fame and status of Dior in the world’s of fashion, design, and beauty.

Fragrance | Miss Dior

This is the piece of content that I chose for discussion. It’s the newly fragrance ads for Miss Dior. I have seen the video for this advertising on Youtube before. It was attractive, engaging, and pleasant. Even though I may not purchase it soon, it enhances my likeness and possibility for choosing Dior’s products in the future.

Miss Dior, The New Fragrance-Youtube

The ads video for Miss Dior was published by Christian Dior’s official account at September 3, 2021 on Youtube. The length is just 43 seconds, but it shows a complete story of the new fragrance, Miss Dior. With the prelude of background music, the heroine of this video walks towards you and says “wake up”. The story begins. Then, there are different scenes of her running on lawn, running towards sea, and hugging her lover boy. Her car carries a bunch of beautiful and colorful flowers. She drives through the road happily and confidently.

At 16s, it’s one of my favorite scenes. She lies down on the grass with all flowers around. The scents of flowers and the image of beautiful, young lady pursuing her love and life are in accordance with the ideas behind Miss Dior fragrance. Like love always comes with sadness or disappointment, she cried for a moment. However, it doesn’t last long. She keeps smiling and feeling happily with flowers, wind, lawn, and sunshine.

“And you, what would you do for love?”

This is the question she posts at the end of the video. It brings me and all the other customers to feel the story and think of love. At the end, it posts the image of the new fragrance, Miss Dior.

These are the contents of this video ads and include the parts that attract and engage me. I think the video did a very good job catching people’s eyes and leading a discussion about love. All the elements and scenes are in accord with the vision and concepts of Miss Dior, including its scents and packaging. I don’t think it pushes messages to me. Rather, it pulls me into the story and let me feel the emotion and connection. Except the beginning and the end, it doesn’t keep telling you that its Dior. Rather, it attracts customers into it.

Besides, I think the story fits with Christian Dior’s overall brand story and image. From my point of view, Dior’s overall story, especially for women’s products, focus on beauty, happiness, and elegance. Dior’s products show excellence and luxury as well. Miss Dior fragrance does well in showing its own characteristics as well as revealing the values of Christian Dior.

I think this video ads for Miss Dior is shareable because people can easily share the Youtube link to friends and family. Also, the length is short and will not waste you much time watching. The video ads is successful with 101M views and 15K likes. It’s an attracting and interesting one.

Like it :)

--

--

Sammi Xue
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Storyteller | NYU graduate student | UCI undergraduate | Chinese