Coca-Cola is offering a taste of the future

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 9, 2023

Co-created with AI, Coca-Cola has launched a limited edition zero sugar Y3000 to show you the flavor of the year 3000.

Hello friends, welcome back and take a seat! I wasn’t sure what you like to drink, so I prepared some coke for you. It isn’t a regular Coke — it is the Coke Y3000 from the future.

This Y3000 gave me a Y2K nostalgia

I came across this reel on Coca-Cola’s Instagram page. The video featured the Jonas Brothers and this mysterious Coke Y3000, and the cute sky blue and pink bottle instantly caught my eye. I definitely felt a nostalgia seeing the Jonas Brothers, immediately bringing me back to my good old childhood days. Maybe it’s a magical product that can connect my past to my future? Well, I should give it a try. How about its flavor? I’m curious, but I’m not really counting on AI for its taste in human food.

Inspiration for marketers

Now that generative AI has become the present, we can see how brands are trying to keep up with this trend by integrating AI into their products and services. As for Coca-Cola, is it really about the flavor of this Coke? Maybe it’s more about this AI-powered experience that allows consumers to envision the future with them.

It is an experience rather than a product

This integration of generative AI can help brands stay relevant, elevate brand identities, and tap into the digital community where Gen-Zers live. The fun, the engagement, and the forward-looking brand image created with AI can give a long-established brand like Coke a chance to rejuvenate its brand image and attract a younger audience.

More thoughts on AI

As generative AI is becoming more commonly integrated into marketing campaigns, it is not the question of “Should we use it or not?” for marketers. Instead, we will be asking ourselves, “How should we use it?”

We have already seen the power of AI in the matter of data collection and data analysis. It can help us gather information and identify market potential more efficiently. Now, we are seeing that brands can be more innovative with AI to create their one-of-a-kind experiences with consumers. Other than Coca-Cola, I also saw Three Olives Vodka implementing AI to plan parties for consumers — maybe not groundbreakingly innovative, but it is fun and engaging.

Three Olives Vodka implementing AI to plan the perfect party

Going forward, there are immense possibilities with AI. The question is how we, as marketers, can harness the power of AI to the fullest to create something truly different and meaningful. As for me, I’m excited to see something more than the Coke Y3000. How about a Coke Y4000? What would that look like? Maybe I’ll ask AI for some ideas.

--

--

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A foodie, park-goer, and herb-lover, studying Integrated Marketing @ NYU