Concrete WFH NIGHTMARE by Apple

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readFeb 5, 2023

After 1 year of hybrid work + 1 year of fully remote work as a marketing freelancer, I experienced all the working-from-home things.

Remember when I first saw this Apple creative video at the beginning of Covid, I couldn’t resonate (At that moment, Covid in Taiwan was not severe as in the State). Two years later, all the details in this video can highly touch me and made me want to order the Apple product immediately.

I will tell you why and reveal all the video details today!

This series video talks about the work daily of 4 people who work in the same team in a packaging company

Accurately show the pain points of working from home

The most crucial point that this video can touch me is that it truly shows the situation I have encountered countless times during WFH. It didn’t exaggerate anything. My life at the period was just as messy as the video shown…

#1 You need to stay with your family when you were working

It’s so annoying!!!! My mom often asks me to do something when I am working and I don’t know why. Working at home is still working, right?

His mom always let him hard to focus on work
This guy needs to play with his daughter even he is on the meeting

#2 The online meeting can’t replace the interaction and feeling of the in-person meeting

The most common situation that happens in online meetings is overlapping dialogue. I believe it has already happened to 80% of people on Earth.

In the video, this team brainstormed initially, and it was tough to inspire each other through the screen. That’s the difficulty I had, either.

#3 Your work life is hard to separate from your personal life

During that time, people couldn’t go out as often as in the past. Our work and entertainment routine started to happen in the same place, and the schedule could disturb mutually.

The girl did some exercise between meetings.

Cleverly display how the Apple product assist you to WFH

In this video, there are several moments in which these people use the feature of Apple’s products to figure out their work problems. I never feel that they are trying to push or advertise me, instead, I am so surprised that there are lots of features I have no idea that I could use on iPhone. I try them after watching this video.

#1 Measurement feature to measure the length

#2 Scan feature to scan the document and send it online

#3 Try on the sneaker online through phone camera

#4 Obtaining notification from Apple Watch

We believe that we’re on the face of the Earth to make great products.

This is one part of Apple’s core value, and I think this video definitely display their core value in fun way.

It’s hard for people to get used to new routine, however, Apple’s product try to help them to save time and make everything more convenient. Even people already rely on iPhone and Mac a lot during WFH, I admire that Apple still can figure out how to do more.

Finally, this is sharable content. You can tell by the view and comment numbers. So crazy!!!! The content is related to all the people now.

High recommend you look at Episodes #1 & #3 (the WFH one is #2); they are all interesting and inspiring.

We will no longer be back in the office five days a week, so let’s learn how to work remotely smartly.

--

--

mata chan 馬它
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A biomedical engineering student and now a product marketing freelance and content creator in New York. Love and share any marketing experience here!