Contents always win

Cynthia Xu
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJun 6, 2021

Promotion contents are always crucial for all brands. Although there are more channels for brands to use in this fast-moving digital world, content has never lost its first position when placing advertisements. Good content can make audiences identify it from the bottom of their hearts, which benefits to build brand or products’ image.

I want to introduce my recently favorite advertisement, which contains impressive content. The Chinese underwear brand, NEIWAI, created a video and posted it on primary social media. I remember that I reposted the video as soon as I finished seeing it and quickly sent it to some of my friends. It uses soft colors which cater to its own product category: underwear. Soft colors make audiences back to a relaxed mode, which provides a good foundation for them to read the words. Meanwhile, the bright background music also helps audiences focus on the lines.

NO BODY IS NOBODY by NEIWAI

I think the core reason why I love this video is because of the way value is conveyed. The content talks about “No body shaming” but in a more relaxed manner. Many of the body-shaming contents use serious tones and harmful pictures to support their thesis. But this video changes another perspective to describe the “flaws” of the body,” making it easier for audiences to understand and accept. It describes scars as “life’s burning kisses,” which diminishes people’s resistance to scars. The video provides a brand new way to treat our scars, eventually help people accept their bodies and love their bodies more.

Good content should use novel ways to attract customers and use the underlying value to keep them and turn them into “promotors.” NEIWAI aims to redefine women’s underwear. Underwear should not be uncomfortable but be fitted. Meanwhile, women’s beauty should not be defined by underwear but by themselves. Accepting and admiring our own bodies is the best way. As I mentioned before, this video uses a soft tone to convey the “No body shaming” value to audiences. The video perfectly fits the brand’s overall image.

I shared it with my friends immediately because I totally agree with the value and content it conveys. Body shaming is always a hidden problem in China. I am so glad that there finally has a brand that wants to talk about it. Sharing the video somehow represents some of my social images. I support such substantial value makes me the kind of person who has an independent personality. Social idea is essential for Gen Z. We want to be different from others and have a distinct character.

--

--