CORONA - Beach Lifestyle

Hongwei Wang
Marketing in the Age of Digital
5 min readJun 20, 2022

Corona, as a leading global drink brand originating in Mexico, has always had a distinct brand identity — nature and beach.

When I open CORONA’s website, I see the dynamic waves, the shallow white sand, the palm leaves blown by the wind, the gently swaying swings, everything is refreshing. What’s even more surprising is that the page can choose the natural sound of the seaside, which means that the entire page has the sound effect of the seaside beach.

After fully exploring CORONA’s website, I got a taste of sunny beaches, South American flair, Mexican heritage, baseball fields in summer, and the brand’s commitment to sustainability. I never expected it to contain so much content.

As an official homepage, its own product series is very complete, and each product briefly introduces the characteristics, ingredients, and alcohol content. While CORONA a is ubiquitous, CORONA is still very considerate to list all the most convenient ways to buy. If I want a CORONA product with a specific flavor, I think next time I will go to the official website first and find the address directly, which can save a lot of time.

My favorite column is “LA VIDA MAS FINA”, which perfectly showcases the Corona-style lifestyle to consumers.

“CORONA SUMMER PROMO” is not only a beautiful view of a seaside pool and beer, but also drives consumers to enter a lottery to win a summer beach vacation in San Diego.

The biggest news about CORONA lately is that CORONA becomes the official cerveza of Major League Baseball. Open “MLB ALL-STAR PROMO”, the whole page is very eye-catching. The full stadium scene and the athletes’ fighting postures all appear on the page, but they are dynamic, making me immersive, as if I am there. As long as the registration information participates in the draw, the lucky ones can go to MLB to watch the game. This is also very good to capture more customers and let more people know about the brand.

The two draws, seaside and sports, fit perfectly with CORONA’s brand style.

As a Mexican brand, the five videos on the “LA VIDA MAS FINA ES NUESTRA” page are expressions about Mexico, the Mexican people and their way of life. It’s a heritage, it’s the root of the brand.

“RECIPES” not only shows us the matching of many kinds of drinks, but also Mexican food. I like fish taco very much. After reading this page, I even thought that I must pair it with CORONA next time I eat it. Maybe this is the direct rendering power that the page brings to me.

If the above is the brand culture, by integrating the South American style, brand style and cultural tradition very well, then “OUR STORY” further tells me the development of a brand and the corporate responsibility of the brand.

When I scroll down the page, I will see two very big slogans “PROTECT OUR BEACHES” & “UNITED BYBLUE” to call on everyone to work together to contribute to the sustainable development of the earth. A brand about the beach is also trying to protect it, and I feel a vivid story about corporate responsibility.

It’s worth mentioning that the mobile page is more compact and easier to navigate in my opinion.

It is useful, pleasure to use, and easy to convert. As an official homepage, CORONA infected me. The entire web page is employing responsive design, and the overall picture is very strong. The gentle sea breeze neutralizes the warm South American style, giving it a non-aggressive but very comfortable feeling. And all the activities on the page are very relevant to the brand, which clearly knows its own style.
When browsing the web, the website has no AI or customer service. But in my opinion CORONA doesn’t need either, because we are all familiar with its products, the webpage details the various beverages, and it also lists in great detail how to buy it based on your location.
To its credit, the relevant connectivity of this page is excellent. Although each column has a separate detailed introduction, there are links to related content under each column, such as product introduction to the introduction of recipes, and seaside life to protect the beach. This close connection makes it easier for users to understand the brand. After all, no one will seriously browse the official website from beginning to end.

Overall, the web design is decent, not very creative, like opening a storybook. But according to the character of the brand, I think I can accept the gentle page design which is so eloquently. The overall website is very good for the promotion of brand culture. This is a brand born by the beach, a brand with Mexican blood, a brand that is trying to save the environment.

--

--