Did you know that Rand Fishkin hides your customers on secret land named SparkToro?

Anna K
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readJul 12, 2020
Rand Fishkin

When professor Joanne Tombarkos said we will have a guest speaker, I was happy to hear that, but did not get excited. I thought it would be a regular class with regular guest, who would share his knowledge with us. If you remember, I’m a scholar and I need to do research before I meet somebody, not because I’m a good student. I started googling about Rand Fishkin and SparkToro. I enjoyed every single detail about him and his career so much that I ended up telling about him to my family. He is born to attract and inspire people in so many ways!

Who is Rand Fishkin

Rand Fishkin is a co-founder of SparkToro, previously co-founder of Moz and an author of Lost and Founder. For me he is gifted as well to love and be loved. I’m a love person and seeing how he proposed his girlfriend, Geraldine Deruiter with a TV commercial in a creative way, made me tear up. Because of his heart melting proposal, luckiest one — as he calls himself, appeared in Oprah show with his wife.

As you see he is not a regular guy! I hided this information from my teen, but he dropped the school. Ups! But as he said it turned out good for him. He founded Moz with his mother and despite of struggling a lot, he made the company very successful. He found his passion for SEO and started blogging. Very soon people started inviting him as a guest speaker. His goal was to be open and transparent as he found other search engines to be very frustrating. His secret sauce was to show to people how search engines work and to give them information they did not have before. Famous guy launched SparkToro this April, 2020.

Secret-land SparkToro

When he was telling us that he launched Sparktoro in the middle of spreading Covid-19, I was honestly shocked. How bright and fearless you have to be to start new company in this crazy world! But he looked so sincere and passionate about wanting to help marketers, I believed that nothing can stop you if you really want something.

When Rand launched SparkToro, business world was cutting marketing spending as if there is no demand, there is no marketing. But this man knew, if your customer base doesn’t have dollars to spend, smart thing is to do free value as much as you can. Company that was founded to help people to do better marketing, to assist organizations accurately identify where their audience hangs out more, started giving free versions of service and they got hundreds of new free users a day. Company focused on improving the product in these difficult days and building a brand. Rand said being passionate and diligent in this case was a good idea and I agree with him so much! It was such a pleasure to see how somebody does what you are afraid of to do. It is so inspiring!

Be passionate about what you do

Be passionate about what you do, enjoy doing that and one day it will work out — said Rand to us, marketing graduate students. I will remember that all my life. Sometimes it happens that we want to do something, but we don’t have passion about it and obviously we can’t add anything unique to our work. And at the end of the day, it’s so obvious that results are not that was expected! I see this guy is not only talented, but he is following his passions and dreams. And the energy that he gives to the world returns to him in a better way.

Today I know for sure, that generosity in business is a good friend and that believing in long-term relationships works better in business. I’m happy to know that there is Sparktoro, where I can find on which sites my customers hang out most and with Sparktoro I can be a better marketer. That I have to be surprising in marketing world because unexpected surprises have much more resonance then expected ones.

Now I know that if I want to do marketing, I need to chose something I’m passionate about. As Rand said he never saw anybody to be successful in field, where they have no passion.

Now I know that if I want to do marketing well, I need to choose where I can add unique value and my customers will be there.

--

--