Digital Marketing in the Music Industry: A Personal Journey

Mia Chow
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readJan 28, 2024

My love for music started from birth. Raised in a family fond of traditional opera, music has always been a part of my life. During my university years studying Cultural Tourism, I explored the broad cultural and creative industries field. According to UNESCO, these industries involve the creation, production, and commercialization of intangible cultural products, often protected by copyright and existing as goods or services.

In this vast field, the music entertainment industry is particularly prominent. It led me to choose this sector as my career path. Digital marketing was my gateway into the music industry. I believed in merging my career with my passion for music.

My journey in digital marketing began on streaming platforms, managing online duet campaigns at Tencent Music Entertainment, and later at integrated entertainment resorts called Wynn, handling music concerts both online and offline. This journey allowed me to immerse myself in my beloved industry while practicing marketing.

Over the past year, trends in the Chinese music industry have evolved. According to a report by Tencent Music Entertainment Group, these trends include a shift towards quality over quantity in new songs and integrating various channels to create hit songs.

The industry is witnessing a rise in niche music genres and personalized mainstream songs. In 2022, unconventional and integrated channel strategies became key to achieving breakthroughs in a fragmented market.

Today, mainstream artists are moving from generic styles to more authentic and innovative expressions, creating unique personal brands.

The popularity of independent music has been on the rise, breaking traditional boundaries. While music variety shows have played a significant role, 2022 saw new forms like planned compilations and collaborations outside usual circles gaining traction.

In these developments, the role of digital marketing, especially in streaming platforms, is vital. It’s about breaking norms and integrating various channels to reach the audience effectively.

In my upcoming blogs, I will share insights from my experience as a digital marketer in the music industry. Topics will range from the exploration of music entertainment by Asians in America to marketing strategies in the music industry. I will also discuss new trends, technologies, and opportunities for digital marketers in this field. Stay tuned for engaging discussions on these topics.

--

--

Mia Chow
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Digital Marketing student @ NYU | Exploring the Music Industry through a fresh eye.