Ding! White Claw Just Waved an Email to You

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
4 min readNov 4, 2023

Hi friends, Happy Halloween! So I came across this beautifully packaged hard seltzer while roaming the aisles of my neighborhood’s Morton Williams. I’m not a big fan of alcoholic beverages, but I will always go for things with beautiful packaging. After all, isn’t it the perfect time to get boozy? So now, as I’m sipping my can of White Claw, I will go on their website and learn about their email marketing strategy. Let’s sip on together!

A glance at White Claw’s email practices

So, I went on their website to sign up for their newsletters. Their website had the same minimalistic design that resembled their product packaging. And wow, they had a great variety of hard seltzers with so many different flavors! Before I noticed, I got lost in their collection of products until an opt-in prompt popped out.

The opt-in message is straightforward, with the headline “Subscribe to the Wave” adding a little White Claw vibe to it. I typed in my information and finished signing up within a minute. Seven minutes later, I received their first email saying welcome.

The Welcome email

Their welcome email is short and sweet. Well, they are not doing anything innovative with it, but I like it for its brevity.

  • The message: it is a simple message they sent, saying “thank you” and inviting you to explore their products. I found it cute that they named their newsletter “The Wave.” And they aligned that brand message by asking if you were “Ready to dive in.” It added a little personality to the brand, which I found to be cute.
  • The call-to-actions: in their welcome email, they also included several CTAs that allow you to explore their products. I clicked on one that said, “Find your flavor.” It took me straight to their product collection page. Okay, one brownie point for making things easy!
  • Other methods to engage: in this email, they also provided additional ways to engage with them. So, I clicked on this CTA that said “Complete your profile” and filled out another form asking me for my birthday, city of residence, and email. Besides that, they also have the links to their social media accounts attached to the email, making things easier for us, the social media savvy.
  • The opt-out: last but not least, I looked for the thing I care about the most — is it easy to opt out? Surprisingly, the “unsubscribe” button was pretty easy to find. And I liked that they made it simple to unsubscribe since many brands are trying to hide it in their emails nowadays.

A second look at their email

As a smart marketer, I don’t just take one look. To test the responsiveness of their email design, I opened their email on my phone and read it one more time. Their email was pretty responsive, giving the same simplicity and clarity on my mobile and tablet. So now, I’m a subscriber and a follower. I’m just waiting patiently for their second email to come.

Some opinions and unsolicited advice

I think White Claw is playing it safe with its email marketing. The sign-up process was easy. The welcome email resembled its brand personality. It has all the elements a customer might need. However, they are playing it so safely that I can’t remember a thing even after reading the email twice.

Now that I’m still waiting for their second email, I would give them the benefit of the doubt. And since I found this cute nail polish collaboration they are doing with NAILS.INC, I’m hoping they will email me about it at some point. Well, before then, thanks for reading, and let’s sip on!

--

--

Caroline Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital

A foodie, park-goer, and herb-lover, studying Integrated Marketing @ NYU