Cristina Balcazar
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readSep 13, 2020

--

DO NOT FREAK OUT AND DARE GREATLY!

When the Professor told us that we have to create a blog, I sincerely freaked out! My immediate thoughts were: “I have never written a blog before!” “What am I going to talk about?” “But I am not a writer!” “I am still learning about Marketing” “What if i do it really bad?” I slightly had a drama queen moment…. Am I the only one here?

As I was reading about tips on creating a blog, one of the first things experts recommend is to always be authentic. That is what got me to think: Why do I think that the only people that can write a blog, have to be professional writers, experts on their topic? What will happen if I try? So I decided to follow the rule of Brené Brown, my favorite author, and dare greatly … no big thoughts, no double sights, just go for it, and enjoy this new experience. Most importantly, I will just be me.

So, who is this little drama queen? My name is Cristina Balcazar, and I am from Puebla, Mexico. I did my bachelor’s degree in Advertising back home. Studying this was an excellent experience, as I learned to understand people differently and translate their needs into creative solutions. Even though I learned so much, I felt like I wanted more. Only this time, I wanted to dive more deeply into the big world of Marketing. That is what led me to study my master’s degree in Integrated Marketing at NYU.

I will be using this platform to primarily talk about digital marketing. I am excited about it since my undergraduate studies focused on traditional media. And to be honest, does that even exist anymore? What is marketing today without social media or technology? The digital landscape seems to be quickly taking control of this profession, and it is in our hands to keep up the pace.

This is the new blog of a Mexican living in New York, ready (and now very excited) to dare greatly. I might not be an expert (yet), but I am definitely here to record my digital marketing growth, which sounds fun (at least to me). So I decided this: this blog will be lead by authenticity and transparency, so get ready to read about new learnings, honest thinking, inquiries, difficulties, and discoveries that are going to take place in the upcoming months! This is a trip that I am eager to share, and I really hope you can find here a safe space for us to connect and learn together.

As Brené Brown affirms in her book, we NEED to start embracing vulnerability because, even if we do not feel prepared enough, I am sure that great things will come to life if we do.

So let us begin!

--

--

Cristina Balcazar
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Marketer and passionate about the customer experience · Grad Student at NYU· MS in Integrated Marketing