Do we need others to tell us who we actually are?

YanGx!
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readFeb 13, 2022

I am skeptical about psychological tests, or everything.

Just one question, how can we know whether we are the people who can view themselves independently without adding extra expectation when measuring the scale of disagree or agree during the test on our own?

We all know that our brain tricks ourselves into our memory system, such as we are more likely to memorize things in a good way to protect us from getting hurt instead of remembering the truth. So, if our brain can do it to our memory, why can’t it play the same trick on the test?

This is How Your Brain Works (AsapScience, 2013)

Whatever, I still did the “ How to Fascinate” test. The test will tell how other people see you and what your advantages are. I tried my best to be objective about myself. It turns out that I am a PROVOCATEUR. Let me explain it first; it means a person who provokes trouble, causes dissension. Well, it doesn’t sound good, so I look up several dictionaries to make sure I get a clear understanding of what it is, and they all say the same word that it looks like I will be a troublemaker in my job.

Maybe I am right on my instinct. Psychological tests are not the real flection on ourselves. However, considering that it is my homework assignment and a respectful and knowledgeable professor strongly recommends it, I should give it a second chance. So I take a detailed look at my primary and secondary triggers. The first one is INNOVATION, and the second is MYSTIQUE. And, all of a sudden, I think I just found the best two words to describe me.

Screenshot Of My Test Result

While you tend to not draw attention to yourself, your ideas can be very attention-getting; You’re less overtly creative than other Innovation personalities, you don’t overcommunicate, which adds to the curiosity you provoke. — How to Fascinate

That’s who I am, activism in mindset and passivism in talking. My brain never stops working; even during a dream, it is still on, and it can store my fantasy till the next morning I open my eyes and type them down on a memo. I am always the last person to speak at a brainstorming meeting, but I would never be afraid someone has already shared the idea in my head because I knew it is unique and irreproducible.

The mystique character inside me more likely appears to be my solitary and cruel, or in other words, independent and calm. I don’t mind acting alone because I don’t like waiting for others to catch up. I don’t like to ask for help because I feel more comfortable making decisions on my own.

Working Woman (Abeena Lijo)

It is pretty clear what type of job will suit me. I want to tackle meaningful challenges and find elegant solutions to meaningful problems during my work, not just tinker with figures in a spreadsheet. Besides, having enough freedom to exercise my creative strengths is also important. It is always hard to find such a position at the early stage of my career. Thus, I am fully prepared for easy, routine tasks that could bore me half to death. But I still hold strong confidence that I could develop my abilities into a track record so effective that can’t be ignored.

Somehow, as soon as I finished reading the whole report, I realized that the truth is that I am a skepticism and the test result that I am a provocateur is coordinated with each other. Based on that, I can nearly confirm that the test is predictive and accurate, at least for me. Now that you have spent 3 minutes reading this blog, it is no other cost to spend another 3 minutes doing the test. Just have a try!

This is Yang’s blog. Thanks for your reading. And see you next week :)

--

--

YanGx!
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Graduate Student at NYU Integrated Marketing | Storyteller | Beauty Explorer | Mindful Listener