Ebony is Back — Digital Relaunch

Huiyan Li
Marketing in the Age of Digital
2 min readMar 6, 2021

Why it caught my eye?

Ebony magazine page is the site that caught my attention. The magazine has existed since 1945 but has been relaunched as an online form only. One thing that overtook my thought is the cover of the page. The art picture is of a lady with braided hair all over the page and has closed her eyes. The use of unconventional colors causes me to look at the cover page of the magazine continuously. The magazine has used bright and unique colors in the art, and this creates a strong visual to capture the audience immediately they see the page. I also like the fact the magazine has put a brief history of the magazine. Therefore, I do not need to cram any magazine information for it has clear lettering and numbers. March is a women’s history month. Therefore, this caught my thought as the magazine wishes women a happy one and persuades them to view their magazine with that in mind.

The article indicated that it was purchased out of insolvency. The persons who purchased the magazine are well-known successful socialites. Therefore, seeing their names makes me know the magazine will succeed and give me the urge to learn more. The magazine will be featuring many black article writers. For many years in the United States, black people were considered criminals due to them living in ghettos. Nowadays, things have changed. I like the case that the magazine is for black people. It’s a new channel to let them speak out their thought and do something for themselves. I hope the Ebony relaunch could bring some new action to change people’s stereotypes about black people. Besides that, the magazine will feature Martin Luther King Jnr and Dorothy Dandridge’s famous activists in July. The article caught my attention because they are just aiming high, and I cannot wait to read their articles.

--

--