Email Experience: Lillet Spritz

Nikhita A.
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readOct 29, 2023

Aperol’s competitor brand, Lillet, has a fairly easy website to navigate. While the email sign up could be a little more prominent on the main page, you can scroll down and a horizontal banner is clearly placed so that the user can sign up via email to Lillet Newsletters.

The next slide that comes up is information about the user. This includes name, birth date, email address, etc. With a short form fill-out, the user is able to sign up in a relatively short amount of time to the Lillet subscription.

After receiving confirmation, I checked my email; however, nothing was to be found. Similar to the Aperol webpage sign-up, I received a welcome email a mere day later.

I don’t find that tactic to be the best way for any brand to advertise its email marketing. In my humble opinion, I think an immediate email confirmation should be sent to the users inbox to indicate to the user that they have successfully subscribed to the brand’s email marketing content.

I have noticed that the frequency of the emails sent became more consistent and regular once I subscribed to Lillet’s newsletter. Once I received that first welcome email in my inbox, the daily average would be 1x a day for an email from the company to show up in my email inbox.

Logically speaking, Lillet is using best email practices by being proactive and emailing their registered user. My only issue is that the welcome email should arrive immediately to any signed up users’ inbox.

Lillet uses email marketing to lead users to its website landing page as well as promotional efforts for the brand. They take personal data and but the newsletters are not catered towards each individual, rather it is an objective or general newsletter for any and all Lillet fans.

Personally speaking, I feel that a beverage brand like Lillet could be more unique and exciting in their approach to email marketing. A generic landing page with a newsletter doesn’t cut it anymore. I was thinking of the brand style matching the newsletter style with the sleekness and elegance of Lillet’s creative and visual branding. They could also consider notifying users of free giveaways on their emails (which are typically a very successful strategy on social media) to boost engagement on their socials and create brand awareness for other non-Lillet users, or perhaps Aperol users.

All in all, Lillet’s email marketing is standard but did not exceed expectations. The wow-factor could come from doing something different to other alcohol companies or leveraging their existing brand marketing. While I am aware there are limits to how much you can advertise in this industry without restrictions, there surely must be a unique positioning or point of differentiation that the Lillet brand can latch on to before other alcohol companies do. Ideas include sleek email landing page UX, interactive elements, coupons, discount codes, “events near me” options with advanced SEO, and much more. The possiblities are endless and Lillet can create a more lively presence to not only their emails but their entire brand messaging.

Signing off!

--

--