Email marketing of “ILIA”, which is still worth considering…

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readMar 14, 2024

When first browsing the website of ILIA, I was intrigued by their commitment to sustainable, skincare-powered makeup and the video of it is also very outstanding and attractive.

After 5 sections, the pop-up window showed up, which said

“ENTER TO WIN A$500 Gift Card+ JOIN OUR TEXT LIST FOR 15% OFF.”

So, I quickly gave my address to them, as well as the phone number. Like Drunk Elephant we researched in class, ILIA also sent the confirmation letter through text message. However, it had a small icon on the page guiding us customers to check our phones. Unlike Drunk Elephant which left us blinding waiting for that.

So I just checked my texts and replied ‘Y’ to confirm my subscription. And it sent me the discount code immediately, followed by the link to its website.

In turn, I just clicked the link, but I found that I did not automatically sign in through that link, so I had to re-enter my email address which made me feel a little bit troublesome.

However, when I was re-entering my email address through my phone, I got the first welcome email from “ILIA”.

And the whole process took about 5 minutes.

I don’t know the reason why those cosmetic brands prefer to reach us through mobile devices first, maybe they think the buying process in mobile phone is more convenient? Or maybe more customer reach their website through mobile devices?

Hard to say.

But from my personal perspective, changing the device during the purchasing process is not a good thing, which will automatically create more processes and reduce the buying willing.

Both email and text has its pros and cons. But one thing can be sure that, the email can be received through PC and mobile devices, however the text is restricted to our phone.

However, as a marketer, I still clicked the buttom on the email, the same problem emerged. I was still not sign in for that, so I have to re-enter my email and number again,again,and again…

I don’t think people will bother to do that.

The consistency of our personal accounts should be taken into consideration. Giving us personal information is not a very pleasurable thing, not to mention doing that repeatedly.

But the content of its welcome email was more pleasing, never too many or too few, kept concise and had great images and video as well.

I think this brand knows about design and visual expression. However, they should consider more about the human-center design from the whole purchasing process which is also very crucial to form customer loyalty.

--

--

Xintong Ye
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Currently study Marketing in NYU | Used to be a director of film, but also a director of life......