Everyone’s a content creator

Shane Sukhlal
Marketing in the Age of Digital
3 min readJan 31, 2022

You’ve heard this a million times, and you’re gonna hear it a million more. A quick Google Trend lookup reveals that this is a term that has been on the rise since 2015 and doesn’t look like it’ll die down anytime soon. Our collective access to technology, platforms, and social media alike makes us each a storybook waiting to be read by one another.

But what does that mean, Shane?

Authors David Meerman Scott, Seth Godin, and even entrepreneur Neil Patel all claim that content is king, but from what they say, I like to think that context is his court. Content that we put out can only be as strong as the audience that consumes it. If we were to cling to that word consume, then you’d understand how hard it is to create content for the right people. Think of when you go into the gas station after a long road trip and you’re staring at the myriad of sodas, carbonated drinks, and caffeine-infused potions, and having no idea what to get. Audiences and readers today carry a similar media-selection journey. Our job is to get engaged- to get you to ‘pick up our storybook.’

About Me

Hailing from Guyana, South America, where roughly 40% of the population has access to an internet connection, traditional advertising rocks. But as of recently, advertisers are finding more and more ways to stop turning brands into people, and more so of turning people into brands.

I’ve been fortunate enough to have been exposed to the intricacies of the advertising world, especially that transition to more digital-focused strategies, and it’s something I’ve taken a great liking to. Advertising is the family business, and I’ve worked with the full-service agency Impressions for a bit over 4 years, starting as a junior art director and working my way into logistics and growth pipelines. What I’ve found is that smaller communities and large societies all have one thing in common; they like to be spoken with directly. Digital marketing does this exceptionally well, and I’m here to explore that connection of contextual messages at the right place and at the right time.

Speaking about exploring, I’m a huge outdoors person. I love hiking, adventuring, and putting myself in uncomfortable positions, as long as it’s outside. I run a niche tourism production company that documents most of the places I visit around the country.

Photographing swallow-tailed kites in Guyana

In addition to being outside, I also love reading! Right now I’m reading NYU’s faculty professor Sinan Antoon’s “The Book of Collateral Damage” and I’ve been enjoying it. Other top-listers I’ve enjoyed were “Guns, Germs and Steel” by Jared Diamond and “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini. All of these books capture cultural intent from different perspectives, which is a personal goal of mine in this blog; capture what the ‘digital marketing’ culture is like. I do have a personal website where I share my photography and personal projects that I have worked on throughout my undergraduate degree at Johnson and Wales University.

What you’ll find here.

In addition to fun, new facts about digital marketing sprinkled in with my own experiences and opinions, I’ll be attempting to include my international perspective on various digital marketing prompts. As mentioned, my personal goal throughout this blog will be to understand and ‘capture’ what the digital marketing culture is like- the ins and outs, and what that lifestyle might entail.

I do hope you enjoy my blog, and that I can somehow help you write your own storybook soon enough.

-Shane

--

--

Shane Sukhlal
Marketing in the Age of Digital

Aspiring brand strategist and media producer. Guyanese NYU SPS student and avid dog walker. Learn more at shanesukhlal.com